Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Since this was my first attempt at making Gingerbread Men, I found this recipe extremely easy to make AND roll out. The dough was glossy and smooth, on a lightly floured surface rolled out perfectly! Lifted up with no effort, and I agree with the recommendation to use a wide spatula. Flavor was good, not too overpowering. Just right mixture of ginger and molasses. Decorated with Royal Icing recipe from this site, and it was tons of fun for my 7yr old! She was amazed at how good they came out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
perfect recipe, doubled ginger, kept in lock n locks very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Me and my family thought this was delicious. The one problem was that when I kept them in the oven for as long as this recipe told me to, they came out really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonAppetit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
My son is allergic to dairy and eggs and this was great for him. Made it for a kid's Christmas party and the cookies were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
What a great recipe! Every cookie came out perfect...nothing like a perfect man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These are pretty good. I rolled the dough out on floured parchment as another user suggested and it was very easy to work with. They aren't spicy enough for my taste and have a stronger molasses taste. They have a nice chewy texture that I like. A good cookie, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Great recipe. I was looking for a recipe that didn't come out of the oven hard; these are soft in the middle but not "cake like"; I did keep the cookies in a tupperware container which I think kept them from going hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
classic gingerbread recipe, goes perfect with this icing: 1 tablespoon margarine 3 tablespoons boiling water 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger 1/8 teaspoon salt 2 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar also, dont overcook these, you will be able to taste it and they do get hard when they dry and butter your pan as they stick i would also recommend decoring heavily with icing and using margine such as sticks like Parkay. thay turnd out fine that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used the recipe for smaller (2 to 3 inch cookies), and they are perfect. I ended up with about 50 cookies per batch. The only problem is that they weren't gingery enough for my tastes. I would suggest adding a pinch or 2 more ginger. Also try the "Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies" for added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Pretty good and easy to make-- not very sweet, definitely needs some icing, but other than that, a very good dough to work with. Bakes to be the same brown as the raw dough was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States