Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
An excellent gingerbread recipe with wonderful flavor and texture! As others suggested, I increased the amount of ginger greatly. I also added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
pretty good recipe, not the best I've had, but pretty good, I would do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Delicious gingerbread men! Never thought I cared much for them, but after making this recipe, I have changed my tune. My three year old son was slamming on them! I had to hold back eating one while decorating them for gifts for people. Really, just don't over-bake them, cool them properly, and they really are a good, and soft, cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birdypartridge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catlett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I am so disappointed in this recipe. All I can taste is the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Dark, spicey, but still retain their sweetness. The proper thickness keeps them soft, baked for 6 minutes then let cool for 5 before transferring to wire racks. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious! I made the dough for my kindergarteners to cut-out, bake, and decorate. I was afraid that they might not hold up after all that, but they were great! One mom even asked for the recipe the next day after having a nibble of her child's cookie. I will use this recipe every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
good recipe, still would like to find a softer recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Mmm! I didn't have shortening so I used butter, no difference really. I didn't bother sifting everything else either since I lack a sifter. In other words, I'm quite the lazy chef. =D I also made them about 1/8th inch thick since I don't like really fat cookies, I like them crunchy and thin, so I left them in the oven for an additional 4-5 minutes or so. I like it better this way. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudiestdragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Good recipe. You can really taste the molasses in these. They aren't very "spicy," which I like. They are not overpoweringly sweet, either, so they taste even better with icing. Dough was quite sticky, even straight out of the fridge; I had to add flour before I was able to roll it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These are the softest gingerbread people I've ever eaten . . . even after a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States