Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe but used unsalted butter instead of shortening. I have made this recipe three times and each time, it has come out perfectly. Rolling the dough between parchment paper really does make it easy to roll and the dough doesn't stick. I also bake the cookies right on the parchment paper that I rolled the cookies out on. The flavor of the cookies is not very strong compared to other gingerbread cookies. They taste like a gingersnap from the store. The cookies can be hard or soft depending on the thickness that you roll them. The thinner the dough, the faster they cook and the crisper they become. I had my kindergarten class bake these in school. They were able to make the dough and roll them out. They decorated them using mini chocolate chips for the eyes and buttons and sunflower seeds for the mouth. The chips and seeds were put onto the cookies before they were baked. I was also able to write the students' names on the parchment paper before baking so the correct cookies went to each child. We made them after reading several different versions of the Gingerbread Man, The Runaway Latke and the Runaway Tortilla. It was a great way to celebrate the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My son made them. We had to add more water, but it was probably the way he measured the flour. We didn't have molasses, so we used dark corn syrup. They taste great. I don't like a strong molasses flavor, so I'd probably go 1/2 c molasses and 1/4 c dark corn syrup if we make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
It needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BuffyMolleson
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
First time ever making gingerbread men and I think they turned out awesome! I used Tenderflake (lard) for the shortening and I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the recipe. I chilled the mixture in the fridge for 1-1/2 hours before rolling it out. Have to be pretty careful rolling it because it is very sticky and careful picking them up to place on cookie sheet because they break easy but once baked, they harden up. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was the best gingerbread cookie I have ever had. You can really taste the molasses which I LOVE LOVE LOVE and they are soft. I mostly used a circle and gingerbread men for my shapes and they held up really well (not so soft they fell apart). I made enough last year for 20 servings and shared with my friends and family and they all loved the recipe. The only change I made was I used two sticks of margarine instead of the shortening because I didn't have any. Thank you so much Annamaria for my favorite cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this recipe as it is written and it is fantastic. This was my first attempt at making gingerbread men in all of my 58 years. Very easy. I did not let the dough chill for an hour, however. I immediately rolled the dough between waxed paper as one reviewer suggested...and yes that worked very well. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made these with margarine instead of shortening, but forgot that margarine does not firm up in the fridge very well. Had to freeze the batter in order to be able to even roll it into balls (there was no way I was going to be able to roll it out - it would have needed at least 1/2 cup more flour than that). However, my mistake actually made these SOOOOO SOFT! Delicious flavor (doubled the cinnamon only) without being too spicy. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
These were great except I added more spices to the mix since I like a very spicy cookie. I used a small gingerbread cutter and when they were cool, I spread lemon curd on one and topped with another to make a sandwich cookie. The combo of lemon and ginger was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was really easy to make, but as I used butter rather than shortening, and as the dough seemed to be a bit dry and crumbly, I added an egg yoke to be safe. They turned out lovely :) Though I think I'll add a little extra spice next time, but I think that's just my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Perfectly soft, flavorful and addictive. I had never made gingerbread before and this was easy. I took these to the office and they were gone within an hour! I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves, allspice and some extra cinnamon for more flavor and took them out of the oven a little early to be sure they were soft. Make sure you spread them out- these expand quite a bit. I used the sugar cookie icing recipe and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States