Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Amazing! The best gingerbread recipe I have ever used. So easy. So yummy. Not too "gingery". Just right. The dough was so easy to use. It was not sticky like so many gingerbread recipes. This is now my "go to" recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These cookies were very good, I got a great consistency -and I doubled the recipe. I wish they had more spicy flavor so next time I will add more cloves I thimk.... The kids in my pre-school class Loved them with frosting ! A great classic recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I love this recipe. Anyway, I always roll out the dough between two sheets of wax paper, then loosen the paper on both sides before cutting the cookies out. This way, you can cut out cookies immediately without waiting for dough to get cold. We use this for our gingerbread houses, too. It's a very sturdy gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
These cookies were a big hit with my friends, they were gobbled up really quick! I was scared reading some of the reviews that they might not taste good so I added some extra ginger and some allspice. They aren't as gingery as some gingerbread cookies but they are still really good (as long as your not in some gingerbread competition). I ended up having a little less molasses than I needed (just under 3/4 cup, maybe 2 tablespoons short) so I didn't find it to have a strong molasses taste. The only thing I'd complain about was that the dough was really dry and flaky and I ended up having to throw a lot of that stuff out but that could be because I used 1 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose instead of entirely all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is a really fun recipe to use and a very creative version of its bigger brother. I used this at my annual Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Not impressed. Only thing I did like about this recipe is that it contains no eggs, and so would be good for my vegan friends. (I myself have no prob w/ eggs). I found the dough to be hard when chilled, too gooey when room temp. Most of all, the flavor was disappointing. So I added half again as much sugar and doubled the spices plus an extra dash of ginger, and then some allspice. I added these to the dough just before the second rollout, since the first batch was so disappointing. This DID improve the flavor somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This cookie is absolutely wonderful!! Very soft, chewy and simple. This is a great recipe to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Never having made gingerbread before, I figured that I'd try one out. As another reviewer pointed out, the hardest part was waiting until the dough chilled. I had also doubled the recipe, but was surprised at all the negative reviews. I did add slightly more ginger than the recipe suggested (1/8 tsp), but the taste was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Funny how what works for some doesn't work for others. The dough turned out too soft. After the cookies baked I attempted to remove them with a spatula to cool, but they squashed together and I ended up with "Gingerbread Sumo Wrestlers!" The flavor didn't really ring any bells either. Onward to the next recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
My daughter and I had a ball making gingerbread shapes! I only used 6 cups of flour and found that the dough did not need to be chilled before cutting. I doubled the recipe (not necessary!) and froze half the dough for later. The cookies baked well but lack flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States