Stir Fry Tomato and Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a completely authentic take on an easy and delicious family style dish, so beloved in China that it also shows up at formal banquets. I've always been surprised that we don't see it on more menus in the US.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This dish has also been a favorite in my family since I was very little. It's great with rice, is healthy, and nutritious. I would add some chopped garlic for a little bit more flavor; my family adds the garlic with the tomatoes so they don't fry-- but cook in the juices of the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I grew up on a recipe similar to this one, except the way my father did this for me was he put some oil in a frying pan added sauce to coat bottom of pan let that heat up and then added an egg or two and kept the egg sunny side up. Added some salt and served with his italian loaf bread. mmm So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was first taught this recipe when I was living in Tianjin China while on work assignment. The secret for truly authentic is to start the eggs on low temp and stir with chop sticks in order to get the long egg strains similar to egg drop soup. Take the eggs out and set aside. Turn up the heat to med-high, add a little more oil and then stir fry the tomatoes. Once done take off heat and add eggs back to wok to re temper and serve. Thanks for reminding me of this great authentic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Simplicity is a valuable asset with some dishes and this one isn't any different. I made the dish exactly as the recipe indicated and loved it! I prefer a little more salt with the tomatoes and salted them before adding them to the eggs. It was very surprising to me that a previous reviewer with an 'expert' rating was disappointed that this dish tasted like scrambled eggs with tomatoes since the list of ingredients leaves nothing to the imagination. I loved the taste of the fresh tomatoes with the eggs. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a staple in any Chinese household, including our own! Very simple, yet so good! re cheese and bacon -- This is a traditional Chinese dish, it isn't trying to be American breakfast food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a breakfast staple in the Philippines, especially with the ilokanos. My family had their own way of cooking it. We add salt to the eggs, saute'ed the tomatoes in oil first, let it get a little soft, then add beaten eggs & green onion. you may also add a few drops of soy sauce before adding the eggs. asian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII GIRL Luvs2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
For a quick, spicy twist I like to use one can of Rotelle, drained, as a substitute for the tomatoes. Couple that with a simple cheese quesadilla... mucho delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobbyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I love this traditional Chinese recipe. It really is quick and easy to make, plus it tasted delicious. It may sound odd to mix tomatoes and eggs; but I think everyone should give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was good but a little boring to me, so I added a little cheese to melt on top and that made it good, I think maybe a bit of bacon added might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States