Stir-Fried Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I make this with chicken and pork tenderloin! My husband says it's much better (and healthier) than that our favorite Chinese Restaurant! I do use extra pineapple juice for the sauce! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
the sauce was very tasty, i added carrot slices and watercrests (spelling???), and would make that again; however, the batter was a mess; clean up was bad enough, but the taste was not fit for consumption! next time i would just dust it with tempura flour or all purpose,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patidee
Photo by xXnicoleXx
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was easy ,it made great left-overs the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xXnicoleXx

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I skipped battering and frying the chicken, we cubed it, cooked it in about 1/2 TBS olive oil and added diced veggies (onion, carrots, green pepper and a little celery) and let that saute about 10 minutes while I prepped the sauce. I combined the sauce with the veggie/chicken mixture and stirred in some fresh diced pineapple at the very end. A very tasty meal! My husband and son liked this sauce better than the one I've been using. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I couldn't make it the way that is listed. I was really disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really like this recipe but there are a few changes I made that I have found in similar recipes: First, for the sauce instead of adding the Splenda and food coloring I added 1/4 cup of sugar (I prefer it) and 1/2 cup of ketchup. The ketchup makes it a great consistency, still has that sweet & sour coloring, and adds a great depth to the flavor. Second, instead of 2 green bell peppers, I added a yellow and red peppers. They add more color to the dish and have that sweetness that goes great with the sauce. Third, I found marinating the chicken in soy and lightly flouring and browning was a quicker, healthier way to cook the chicken. But still a great recipe. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I could not tell the difference between this and what you would buy at a take-out restaurant. The girl friend couldn't tell the difference either. I was a bit worried about the sauce, but it came out fine. I followed the modified directions of another persons comments since I didn't have any Splenda. I used a half cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of sugar for the sauce. Everything came out just fine and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andre Outlaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I dont like when I change the serving numbers on any recipe. I changed this one to 4 servings. The yeldings in the directions do not change and if you are not careful, you may mess up! Example: 1. Combine 1 1/2 cups water Should be 3/4 cups. 2. Combine flour, 2 tablespoons oil. Should be 1 tablespoons oil. If you are careful and catch this, this is a five star recipe in my humble opinion : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe. It came out absolutely delicious. I used a fresh pineapple for more flavor and it was amazing! I highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
i added a bit more seasoning to the chicken to bring up the flavor, the parsley and basil made it smell even better, the sauce was okay but i ended up doing it over using the ketchup and sugar instead, tasted so much better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaphisticaited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States