Stir-Fried Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is delicious! I made it exactly to the recipe and my whole family loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahforreal
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Great recipe! As other reviewers said, I did regular sugar and added ketchup. I also added more spices to the chicken batter (garlic and onion powder, ginger) My family thought this was better than the local restaurants! I won't be making it every day because it certainly isn't healthy and took a very long time overall to make, but this will be my go-to meal for date nights or special dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I have been trying out many various recipes for Sweet and Sour Sauce and I am happy to say I finally found one that my family loves. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone. It's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've never been fond of homemade Chinese because it never tastes authentic, however, this was fantastic! I only made it for the hubs because the kids and I were having something else but I did taste it as I went along and it was great. I would've given 5 stars but I followed too many of the reviewers suggestions, which were very helpful. I lightly dusted the cut up chicken in seasoned flour and pan fried in evoo then removed and sauteed the bell pepper in same pan for 5 mins. then added the pineapple chunks and cooked till carmel-y, another 5 mins. Removed those and made sauce in same pan with 1/2 C. ketchup, 1/4 C. vinegar, 1 1/2 C. water, 1/2 C. sugar and reserved pineapple juice and s & p...brought to boil, removed from heat and added diluted cornstarch and whisked till thickened, served over jasmine rice. My husband nearly licked his plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
i added a bit more seasoning to the chicken to bring up the flavor, the parsley and basil made it smell even better, the sauce was okay but i ended up doing it over using the ketchup and sugar instead, tasted so much better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaphisticaited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe. It came out absolutely delicious. I used a fresh pineapple for more flavor and it was amazing! I highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I dont like when I change the serving numbers on any recipe. I changed this one to 4 servings. The yeldings in the directions do not change and if you are not careful, you may mess up! Example: 1. Combine 1 1/2 cups water Should be 3/4 cups. 2. Combine flour, 2 tablespoons oil. Should be 1 tablespoons oil. If you are careful and catch this, this is a five star recipe in my humble opinion : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I could not tell the difference between this and what you would buy at a take-out restaurant. The girl friend couldn't tell the difference either. I was a bit worried about the sauce, but it came out fine. I followed the modified directions of another persons comments since I didn't have any Splenda. I used a half cup of ketchup and 1/4 cup of sugar for the sauce. Everything came out just fine and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really like this recipe but there are a few changes I made that I have found in similar recipes: First, for the sauce instead of adding the Splenda and food coloring I added 1/4 cup of sugar (I prefer it) and 1/2 cup of ketchup. The ketchup makes it a great consistency, still has that sweet & sour coloring, and adds a great depth to the flavor. Second, instead of 2 green bell peppers, I added a yellow and red peppers. They add more color to the dish and have that sweetness that goes great with the sauce. Third, I found marinating the chicken in soy and lightly flouring and browning was a quicker, healthier way to cook the chicken. But still a great recipe. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I couldn't make it the way that is listed. I was really disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States