Stir-Fried Shrimp with Snow Peas and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This had a great mild flavor - I added a bit more ginger and garlic as well as adding a few water chestnuts and bamboo with the peas. My only comment would be that it only makes enough sauce to barely season the shrimp and veggies - if you like it really saucy or want to put it over rice, double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
MMMMM! I have tried to make Chinese recipes before and I could never get the sauce right. I think the trick was the instruction in this recipe to mix the liquid with the cornstarch before adding to the pan. Beautiful! I love veggies so I added carrots cut into match sticks, bamboo shoots, mushrooms and red bell peppers. I didn't have any chives so I used a chopped scallion which I prefer anyway! The sauce was great..increased the soy sauce, then I had to use rice vinegar in place of the rice wine and added crushed red pepper flakes since I like spicy food. The key to this recipe coming out great was twofold. First, I used toasted sesame oil and I think it gave the dish a rich, deep flavor. Veg oil would have been too bland. The second is to cook it very quickly and keep it moving..even if the sauce looks a little too thin, by the time you turn off the stove and pull out a plate it's good to go. Do not overcook because you'll end up with rubbery shrimp, limp veggies and overly thick sauce. The cooking times seem so short but they are spot on! I cannot wait to try this recipe with chicken and other chinese veggies like bok choy and water chesnuts. This is now my go-to recipe for a delicious Chinese feast. Forget take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was so good. I also doubled the sauce, which was defiantly the way to go if you are serving it over some rice. I also doubled the garlic and ginger because I love both of those flavors. This was an awesome recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
whenever stir-frying always heat wok/skillet until water drops skitter over it and THEN add the oil! excellent recipe, i love snow peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was just excellent, but I played around with this dish a little and had some fun. I used peanut oil rather than vegetable oil and green onions rather than chives (because I had them and because the chives in my garden haven't broken ground yet). I added a dribble of toasted sesame oil to the cornstarch mixture, the flavor of which is unique and incredible. Snow peas aren't my favorite, particularly JUST snow peas - so I added onion, zucchini, mushrooms, onions and baby bok choy. I served this over hot cooked rice and garnished it with chopped green onion. I wouldn't have cared for this with just the snow pea pods, but that's a subjective thing and not a criticism of the recipe. With the added vegetables, at least for Hubs and me, this was quite an enjoyable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Very tasty! Great sauce! We used pre-cooked frozen jumbo shrimp which we just thawed and added towards the end of stir frying the veggies. Also added some orange bell pepper to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Very good - much better than take-out! Thanks for an awesome weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Island Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Great served with brown rice! Nice and healthy dinner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Super easy and most of the ingredients are on hand. I doubled the sauce (a must in my opinion) and used dry sherry in place of rice wine. Also, since I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, I just used ground ginger from my spice drawer. I realized after making this that I used sugar snap peas instead of snow peas-still yummy. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Not bad tasting sauce. It probably needs a bit more ginger or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States