Stir-Fried Shrimp with Snow Peas and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I made it for my 12 and 10 year old daughters and three of their friends and they LOVED it!!! They devoured every bit of it. Very kid friendly yet sophisticated enough for a more "mature" palette (My kids just pick out anything they didn't like). I quadrupled the sauce. It helped to have the extra sauce because I added chicken, zucchini, mushrooms, broccoli and water chestnuts. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand so I added ground ginger to the sauce. I didn't have rice wine so I added white wine instead and a little rice wine vinegar. I served it over jasmine rice. My kids say it's a keeper and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Just like in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I tripled the sauce and it was too much. Doubled would have been perfect. I like the flavor of the sauce. I didn't think it needed more garlic or ginger like the other reviews. I added water chestnuts for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Following earlier advice, I doubled the sauce. Then, because earlier reviews had suggested a lack of flavor/spiciness (and because I grew up in Baltimore) I sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning on the shrimp before stir frying. It was great! I highly recommend trying the Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The flavor is excellent, but I doubled the sauce and it is still dry. I also tripled the garlic and ginger. Next time I will quadruple both. I topped with cashews right before serving, which added great flavor. Overall, a woderful meal that tasted like it came from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Evans Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brownell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I thought this was an ok recipe. I added more garlic, ginger and rice wine. I will make again after tweaking it abit, adding maybe hoisin sauce or oyster sauce,and mushrooms. Good but could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very good base recipe for stir-fry. I substituted chicken for the shrimp, and broccoli and carrots for the peas. Also took advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce. Rated 4 only because it's been a long time, and I haven't made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very good! Next time, I'll increase the sauce slightly, and maybe add some broccoli and carrots. But my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Super easy and most of the ingredients are on hand. I doubled the sauce (a must in my opinion) and used dry sherry in place of rice wine. Also, since I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, I just used ground ginger from my spice drawer. I realized after making this that I used sugar snap peas instead of snow peas-still yummy. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
my husband and the kids loved it. they said it tasted more flavorfull than the chinese resturant and that is saying a lot because we eat chinese a couple times a week and are very picky about which resturants we eat at. I tripled the sauce and used more garlic a tad too much, also used double black soy sauce in addition to regular soy sauce.Which gives it a more authentic asian taste. Instead of snow peas i added broccli and canned bamboo shoots and served it over steamed jasmine rice.I will make at least once a week. very good shrimp dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Utokia's Tips for Ginger Shrimp & Broccoli

Shrimp and broccoli bake with a ginger and garlic sauce in parchment packets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States