Stir-Fried Shrimp with Snow Peas and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I tripled the sauce and it was too much. Doubled would have been perfect. I like the flavor of the sauce. I didn't think it needed more garlic or ginger like the other reviews. I added water chestnuts for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Following earlier advice, I doubled the sauce. Then, because earlier reviews had suggested a lack of flavor/spiciness (and because I grew up in Baltimore) I sprinkled some Old Bay seasoning on the shrimp before stir frying. It was great! I highly recommend trying the Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The flavor is excellent, but I doubled the sauce and it is still dry. I also tripled the garlic and ginger. Next time I will quadruple both. I topped with cashews right before serving, which added great flavor. Overall, a woderful meal that tasted like it came from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Evans Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brownell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I thought this was an ok recipe. I added more garlic, ginger and rice wine. I will make again after tweaking it abit, adding maybe hoisin sauce or oyster sauce,and mushrooms. Good but could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very good base recipe for stir-fry. I substituted chicken for the shrimp, and broccoli and carrots for the peas. Also took advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce. Rated 4 only because it's been a long time, and I haven't made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very good! Next time, I'll increase the sauce slightly, and maybe add some broccoli and carrots. But my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Super easy and most of the ingredients are on hand. I doubled the sauce (a must in my opinion) and used dry sherry in place of rice wine. Also, since I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, I just used ground ginger from my spice drawer. I realized after making this that I used sugar snap peas instead of snow peas-still yummy. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
my husband and the kids loved it. they said it tasted more flavorfull than the chinese resturant and that is saying a lot because we eat chinese a couple times a week and are very picky about which resturants we eat at. I tripled the sauce and used more garlic a tad too much, also used double black soy sauce in addition to regular soy sauce.Which gives it a more authentic asian taste. Instead of snow peas i added broccli and canned bamboo shoots and served it over steamed jasmine rice.I will make at least once a week. very good shrimp dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
The flavor was out of this world! I used sesame oil for the shrimp by themselves and had to add more chicken broth at the end because it was too thick. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made a few modifications - I tripled the sauce (and used black pepper instead of white - just a personal preference), doubled the garlic (grated fine to almost a paste to get more flavor), and used baby bok choy, mushrooms, and scallions for the veggies, and served with hot jasmine rice - it was great! Would prefer some spice in a dish like this but that's taken care of with a little spicy chile sauce on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States