Stir-Fried Shrimp with Snow Peas and Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
WOOT! WOOT! CHEERS FOR THE SALAD!!!!!!!!! BUY MEH SOME SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
tasty & easy to make. Used sugar snap peas instead of snow peas & rice vinegar instead of rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this recipe last night for dinner and it was delicious! I used sherry instead of rice wine and added broccoli and carrots, it just didnt seem like enough veggies to me without. I also tripled the sauce (we are sauce lovers) and served over jasmine rice. YUM! Next time, I'm going to try using sesame oil instead of vegetable and maybe adding some fish sauce to the sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I added 1/4th tsp of peanut oil with the garlic, jumbo shrimp, and used stirfry vegetables instead of just snow peas. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
MMMMM! I have tried to make Chinese recipes before and I could never get the sauce right. I think the trick was the instruction in this recipe to mix the liquid with the cornstarch before adding to the pan. Beautiful! I love veggies so I added carrots cut into match sticks, bamboo shoots, mushrooms and red bell peppers. I didn't have any chives so I used a chopped scallion which I prefer anyway! The sauce was great..increased the soy sauce, then I had to use rice vinegar in place of the rice wine and added crushed red pepper flakes since I like spicy food. The key to this recipe coming out great was twofold. First, I used toasted sesame oil and I think it gave the dish a rich, deep flavor. Veg oil would have been too bland. The second is to cook it very quickly and keep it moving..even if the sauce looks a little too thin, by the time you turn off the stove and pull out a plate it's good to go. Do not overcook because you'll end up with rubbery shrimp, limp veggies and overly thick sauce. The cooking times seem so short but they are spot on! I cannot wait to try this recipe with chicken and other chinese veggies like bok choy and water chesnuts. This is now my go-to recipe for a delicious Chinese feast. Forget take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Thank you for this recipe! I loved it! I get something called stir-fry shrimp at a local Chinese restaurant and have been trying to figure out the recipe for a while. This is it! I doubled the sauce like others here and omitted the peas (I like stir-fried veggies on the side). I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pineknot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Very good recipe! My children loved it. We added baby corn which turned out to be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was really good! I added one teaspoon sesame oil to the soy sauce/cornstarch mixture, and added a few more vegetables, like celery, broccoli, and baby corn. I also increased the sauce as suggested by others. Lastly, I substituted splenda for the sugar (on a diet). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I made it for my 12 and 10 year old daughters and three of their friends and they LOVED it!!! They devoured every bit of it. Very kid friendly yet sophisticated enough for a more "mature" palette (My kids just pick out anything they didn't like). I quadrupled the sauce. It helped to have the extra sauce because I added chicken, zucchini, mushrooms, broccoli and water chestnuts. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand so I added ground ginger to the sauce. I didn't have rice wine so I added white wine instead and a little rice wine vinegar. I served it over jasmine rice. My kids say it's a keeper and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Just like in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States