Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This tasted a lot more authentic than other Chinese dishes I have tried. Made it twice in a week, ate leftovers for lunch. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious! I used broccoli, snow peas and red pepper. Just added soy sauce to taste and drizzled a teensy bit of sesame oil at the end (I think sesame oil can be overpowering.) i didn't serve it over rice b/c we were having pork fried rice. But could easily add shrimp or chicken and serve over rice for a complete meal. Very good! Husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcrenshaw66
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I improvised a touch on the original recipe. No peppers on hand, so just used Red onion, mushroom, broccoli, carrots, asparagus, fresh ginger, garlic cloves,toasted sesame seeds, no regular sesame oil or peanut oil, so used chili sesame oil instead, and soy sauce. I also had no vegetable broth, so used chicken broth in the rice and butter not margarine. We contribute to a veggie and fruit co-op called Bountiful Baskets and for a very small price we get a ton of stuff weekly or bi-weekly! We had Asparagus in our last contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcrenshaw66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Bliss, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Pretty good side dish with many possible variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was amazing. I used baby corn cobs water chestnuts onion mushrooms zucchini carrots and brocolli. And you can also throw in some cashews. You will never miss the meat. A tasty and fulfilling dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I thought this was fantastic. Tasted just like you would get in a restaurant. I added a bit of teriyaki sauce I had on hand to the soy sauce, but other than that I kept everything the same. Well, that's not true. I spent $6 on a jar of toasted sesame seeds just for this and in the thrill of having it made I forgot to sprinkle some on the top. Will definitely do it next time though. It can only improve the flavor I would imagine. The really great thing about this dish is you can use any spare vegetables on hand and I'm sure it'll taste great. Next time I'll add some broccoli and carrots as others have mentioned. It seems like it's a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I wasn't expecting much because this recipe seemed kind of boring, but wow, was it good! Based on other reviews, I used about half as much sesame oil at the end after it was finished cooking, but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
For soooo few ingredients this "sauce" was thee best! Used all sorts of veggies that needed to be used up and a bag of broccoli slaw...Delicious. DH on south beach diet so no rice but did serve it up with some really thin sliced filet mignon. Sort of like beef/broccoli from our favorite Chinese restaurant. Thanks for the inspiration for yet another great meal. 7/11/13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Delicious! I used green peppers, broccoli, carrots, onion, canned mushrooms, and celery, just because that is what I had on hand. I also substituted ground ginger since I didn't have any fresh, and used corn oil since I had no peanut oil. I love the double sesame finish! I used toasted sesame seeds so that eliminated the need to bake them myself. Served over rice alongside 'Baked Teriyaki Chicken', also from this site and with an Asian salad with 'Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing', also from this site. What a fantastic meal! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious. I used a bit less oil as others suggested and toasted the sesame seeds in the wok and removed them before starting the stir fry.. I think the key is to make sure that the oil is really hot so within a minute of adding the veggies your wok is steaming. Just be careful when you add the garlic because if you add it to the oil first it will explode -- spitting out at you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States