Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe was superb! The only thing I did differently was I used brown long grain rice instead of white. To make this a complete meal and for protein, I also added sauteed chicken breast cut up into bite sized pieces. Easy and quick preparation and the flavor was outstanding! This recipe will definitely be added to our dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Tried this method with a couple alterations. I used jasmine rice, cooked with just water, and 1 t of butter. Used (untoasted) sesame oil rather than peanut oil because I am out of peanut (I imagine peanut is more authentic, but the sesame worked fine-it also is capable of withstanding high temps). Try toasting the sesame seeds in a small iron skillet over med heat until fragrant and just barely beginning to turn amber, then remove from the heat before they get any ideas about burning. Threw some lemongrass in with the ginger (I buy these convenient tubes of minced lemongrass, ginger, basil, etc. at the store. They keep pretty well and save a good deal of time-also I live in a town which apparently thinks fresh lemongrass is something you spray with Round-Up) and about two tablespoons of Thai green chili paste in the wok just before everything else. You might try 1/2 soy and 1/2 fish sauce (nam pla) and you might want to try pouring in half a can of coconut milk, unsweetened, and let it all simmer a minute or two, then add some chopped cilantro...Thai style... but I didn't want to stray too far from the recipe's character. Just wanted some different flavors to go with the fish I was making. I squeezed a lime over everything when I added the dark sesame oil (of which I used only about 1 1/2 teaspoons-it's kind of expensive and a little goes a long way). This recipe is probably fine the way it is written, but I thought my tweaks might inspire somebody else to be creative, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was very good and will make it again. I made a couple of substitutes only because I didn't have peanut or sesame oil. Would use other veggies next time just for a bit of variety. Overall, a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmnvergil
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made this for my girlfriend and I and we both enjoyed it so much! Took the teriyaki idea from Amy's comment below, but also subbed out the asparagus for broccoli, carrots, snap peas and added an orange bell pepper as well. I forgot the mushrooms, though. Had some left over from the other night, just forgot to pull them out. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmnvergil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This will be a regular meal addition in our house. I used chicken stock, snap peas, and brown rice. Delicious flavor combination that is very simple to create, thank you for the great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schipperke Trainer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great sauce! I added chicken breast chunks, fresh green beans, and fresh cherry tomatoes and cooked a few more minutes than called for as I prefer my stir fry veggies cooked fairly thoroughly. I used brown 'minute' rice. My boyfriend said this was probably the best stir fry he's ever had. This is a keeper and next time I will try broccoli as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen867

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This tasted a lot more authentic than other Chinese dishes I have tried. Made it twice in a week, ate leftovers for lunch. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious! I used broccoli, snow peas and red pepper. Just added soy sauce to taste and drizzled a teensy bit of sesame oil at the end (I think sesame oil can be overpowering.) i didn't serve it over rice b/c we were having pork fried rice. But could easily add shrimp or chicken and serve over rice for a complete meal. Very good! Husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcrenshaw66
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I improvised a touch on the original recipe. No peppers on hand, so just used Red onion, mushroom, broccoli, carrots, asparagus, fresh ginger, garlic cloves,toasted sesame seeds, no regular sesame oil or peanut oil, so used chili sesame oil instead, and soy sauce. I also had no vegetable broth, so used chicken broth in the rice and butter not margarine. We contribute to a veggie and fruit co-op called Bountiful Baskets and for a very small price we get a ton of stuff weekly or bi-weekly! We had Asparagus in our last contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcrenshaw66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Bliss, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States