Stir-Fried Kale and Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was pretty good. I've never used kale in cooking before so it was a new taste for me. Definitely make sure that you have all the veggies chopped before you begin cooking because everything cooks quickly. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very tasty, quick, and easy! I didn't have any sun-dried tomatoes, but it still came out well--I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
The last time I ate kale was over 50 years ago. My mther grew it in her garden. I always keep broccoli on hand. My grocery store doesn't sell kale. I got it at the " Whole Foods " store. I used a very large pan and left the kale and broccoli in bite size chunks. Cooking time is a little longer. I used lots of slivered garlic and sun-dried tomatoes. Love both. We have a big lemon tree, so I used the juice of a large lemon instead of limes. This is an adult vegetable dish, I don't think that children would like it. I found it very, very interesting and very tasty. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
HOLY MOLY! This was TAS-TEE!!!!! And SO incredibly healthy! I left out the chile pepper and used fresh marinated sundried tomatoes, which I got from an old-world Italian meat market.I also added feta cheese to the mix for that extra flavor/texture. WOW, this was GOOD. Will definitely make again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Maybe I just don't like the taste of kale, but the whole dish had a very bitter taste. I do not recomend it unless you're desperate for form greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe, and was the first time I've cooked kale. I did not include the chile, and put in less garlic, but found it to be delicious. I think it would be even better if you added some toasted pine nuts, though I haven't tried that yet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is a great combination of flavors. The lime gives it a nice bite without being too tart, and the chile pepper provides just the right amount of heat without being overpowering. It's a beautiful dish, with the bright red of the sundried tomatoes complementing the vivid greens. I made this as a main dish with the Cherry Tomato Salad as a side, and everything went together nicely. I'd like to try this with red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This recipe was overpoweringly sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I got kale and broccoli in my weekly organic vegi pack and tried them in this recipe. The taste is unique but I do like it. Will definitely make again the next time I have broccoli and kale both at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
While the flavors were incredible, the texture of the Kale is not at its best when stir-fried. Next time I make this, I will steam the Kale and stir fry the broccoli. Keep in mind: kale takes a while to wilt and the garlic will burn and taste nasty long before the kale is wilted via stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States