Stir-Fried Kale and Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I took note of the other reviews the 2nd time making this. I recommend steaming the kale first, set it aside, and then proceed with the recipe. I never found a good use for kale, and I enjoy this recipe, but kale does taste better a bit more cooked than if stir frying raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
While the flavors were incredible, the texture of the Kale is not at its best when stir-fried. Next time I make this, I will steam the Kale and stir fry the broccoli. Keep in mind: kale takes a while to wilt and the garlic will burn and taste nasty long before the kale is wilted via stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I got kale and broccoli in my weekly organic vegi pack and tried them in this recipe. The taste is unique but I do like it. Will definitely make again the next time I have broccoli and kale both at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This recipe was overpoweringly sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This is a great combination of flavors. The lime gives it a nice bite without being too tart, and the chile pepper provides just the right amount of heat without being overpowering. It's a beautiful dish, with the bright red of the sundried tomatoes complementing the vivid greens. I made this as a main dish with the Cherry Tomato Salad as a side, and everything went together nicely. I'd like to try this with red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe, and was the first time I've cooked kale. I did not include the chile, and put in less garlic, but found it to be delicious. I think it would be even better if you added some toasted pine nuts, though I haven't tried that yet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Maybe I just don't like the taste of kale, but the whole dish had a very bitter taste. I do not recomend it unless you're desperate for form greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
HOLY MOLY! This was TAS-TEE!!!!! And SO incredibly healthy! I left out the chile pepper and used fresh marinated sundried tomatoes, which I got from an old-world Italian meat market.I also added feta cheese to the mix for that extra flavor/texture. WOW, this was GOOD. Will definitely make again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
The last time I ate kale was over 50 years ago. My mther grew it in her garden. I always keep broccoli on hand. My grocery store doesn't sell kale. I got it at the " Whole Foods " store. I used a very large pan and left the kale and broccoli in bite size chunks. Cooking time is a little longer. I used lots of slivered garlic and sun-dried tomatoes. Love both. We have a big lemon tree, so I used the juice of a large lemon instead of limes. This is an adult vegetable dish, I don't think that children would like it. I found it very, very interesting and very tasty. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very tasty, quick, and easy! I didn't have any sun-dried tomatoes, but it still came out well--I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States