Stir-Fried Chicken With Pineapple and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Awesome Recipe! Added an asortment of veggies and doubled the sauce. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used boneless chicken thighs instead of the breast. The fresh ginger was a really nice touch. I would only suggest you double the recipe for the sauce...not the pineapple, just the ingredients for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Stir-fried chicken is my signature dish -- what I love to cook for family and company. This week I got a bargain on fresh pineapple so was looking for a recipe to use it, and this was a good one. In addition to the fresh pineapple instead of canned, I substituted jalapeno peppers for some of the green, since I had a surplus from my garden. This added a kick to the sweet-sour flavor. I didn't have mirin, either, so drizzled a little honey into the mix. I am puzzled by the reviewer who said she substituted honey for corn syrup, as there is no corn syrup in the original recipe. Perhaps she mis-read cornstarch, which is what thickens the sauce and doesn't add any flavor. I am used to marinating my chicken for a little while, so I poured the sauce ingredients over the chicken while I chopped the vegetables, then strained it off again before cooking the chicken in a wok. Remove the chicken and then wok the vegetables, starting with hard ones (I used carrots, too) and adding the tender ones, ending with the pineapple. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is a wonderful sweet sour chicken recipe. I used leftover baked garlic chicken cut in chunks and just added to the veggies and sauce to heat through. Delicious! P.S. I did have mirin in the refrigerator, but I believe I read somewhere that you could substitute rice vinegar mixed with a little corn syrup to give the stir fry that shiny glazed appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I like the recipe and it's a keeper! I modified it to suit my taste and will be making this again. I used many additional vegetables such as water chestnuts, straw mushrooms, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHEE122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was really good. I had only ginger in a spice jar and used the same amount as the fresh. I also had only a little left over sauteed peppers & onions (about 1/4 cup) so that's all I used. This was perfect-nothing needs to be changed or enhanced. Even my picky 8 yr. old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! The colors are so vibrant and the flavors are so well balanced. This was a big hit for my family. I made it twice so far. The first time the vegetables came out mushy and over cooked, so the second time I made sure to cook the chicken well right from the start, then I made the sauce without any vegetables in it and when it thickened enough I added first the chicken and then the vegetables. I didn't let it cook for that long from here on to keep the vegetables nice and crisp and vibrant in color. I also used fresh pineapple which made a big difference. It didn't need any of the juice at all. Also I wouldn't recommend substituting ground ginger instead of the fresh one. I have tried that since the first time I didn't have fresh ginger on hand and the flavor was not quit right. We all really enjoyed this recipe and I will make it again and again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
the flavors were very good once the pineapple juice cut the salt of the other sauce down - but i had a hard time with the proportions. at first it wasn't enough sauce, so i doubled it, but that was a little too much and made my veggies soggy near the end. i'm not sure what the trick should be here - maybe to thicken/heat the sauce separately so as not to sog-ify the veggies? well, it was pretty good in the end either way and the hubby loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
very easy and very quick, didn't have the chinese wine so i used a little red wine came out very good, also i doubled the recipe like some of the other suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Delicious and easy to make! I used fresh pineapple, red onions, and red peppers...colorful end result! I increased the sauce and mixed it all together with asian bean threads. Also added a little brown sugar in the end to cut the saltiness of the soy and give it a nice mix of flavors. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States