Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Big hit, even with my kids! I chopped the dates in a food processor and followed the directions exactly. Came out great. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! Soo yummy and the dates make it somewhat healthy =D Since others commented that the cake can get mushy I used 1 1/2 c of flour. It was the perfect amount because the cake was nice and golden brown on the top. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was GREAT and easy - used another reviewer's sauce (brown sugar, cream, butter-1 stick) Was outstanding!Poke holes to let sauce soak in a bit - kids never guessed dates in recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
A similar recipe calls for 1 cup of water to be brought to the boil in a saucepan with about a cup of chopped dates (you can use dried chopped dates instead of fresh if these are not available). Then take it off the heat and add the 1 teaspoon of Baking Soda. It will fizz up quite a bit so don't be alarmed. Leave it to cool while you pretty much follow the rest of this recipe. The recipe I have calls for more flour though (1 1/2 cups of self-rising flour) which may explain why some found this version to be "mushy". I have found that this cooks very well in a greased glass 9-inch pie dish cooked for about 40-45 mins. I only gave this version 4 stars though because the other recipe makes a richer, better tasting sauce. (Dissolve 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream, stir over heat without boiling. When sugar is dissolved take it off the heat and add 1 stick and 1 Tbs chopped butter, stir until dissolved). You can serve the sauce poured over the pudding if you like a cake-like consistency but if you like a "gooier" sticky pudding, poke some holes in the top and spoon some of the sauce over it so it soaks in. You can then serve with more sauce if wanted. Hope this additional information helps and that you enjoy this traditional "down under" favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
i followed this recipe exactly, but the pudding came out mushy and uncooked. i cooked it for over an hour but still wouldnt cook. great flavour/taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was disappointed in this, especially after all the rave reviews. My cake did not resemble a pudding cake at all, and I believe I've figured out why. The directions say to just cover the dates with boiling water, but at the end of the ingredient list 1-1/2 cups of boiling water is listed. I'm sure I didn't have that much boiling water, which is why the cake was drier. Also, my sauce separated and was not the smooth caramel sauce I expected. Taste of both the cake and sauce were okay, but not great. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
absolutely fantastic! i accidentally forgot about it and left it in the oven for an hour, but it still turned out superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I absolutely adore this recipe! As an australian myself, my mum makes this quite often. Great when served with whipped cream!!! Aussie Favourite, also mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States