Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
absolutely divine...tastes awesome.could reduce quantity of dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was really good, my family loved it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watertown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
The cake turned out moist and delicious...but lighter in color than I am used to with STP, so I think that next time I will use brown sugar in the cake recipe to see if I can get that effect. Also...I agree with the other reviewers...the carmel sauce is not carmel-ie enough. Mine seperated and was just sugarie tasting...but over all it was tasty..I would just modify to make it more like traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Incredible and easy sticky toffee pudding!! Keep the sauce separate so that you can eat leftovers. I poked holes in the cake with chopsticks to allow the sauce to ooze in. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Pretty good. Be careful not to overdue it with the dates (ouch!) Would be good substituting dates with other dried fruits and flavored chips. I didn't care too much for the sauce, next time I'll use a thicker/sweeter caramel sauce. Oh yeah, a little cocoa powder in the cake mix was a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
My son has an anaphylactic egg allergy - so this is how to make it without eggs. And it turned out fabulous. I only rated it four stars because I found a better sauce recipe as well. Took it for a dinner party and it was a hit. Instead of 2 eggs add 1/4 cup milk (soy is fine) and 1 tsp. powdered egg replacement. If using all-purpose flour, use 1 1/8 cup and add 1 3/4 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Be aware that the batter looks very runny but it will turn out. Used the 9" greased glass baking dish and cooked for 50-55mins. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Big hit, even with my kids! I chopped the dates in a food processor and followed the directions exactly. Came out great. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! Soo yummy and the dates make it somewhat healthy =D Since others commented that the cake can get mushy I used 1 1/2 c of flour. It was the perfect amount because the cake was nice and golden brown on the top. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was GREAT and easy - used another reviewer's sauce (brown sugar, cream, butter-1 stick) Was outstanding!Poke holes to let sauce soak in a bit - kids never guessed dates in recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
A similar recipe calls for 1 cup of water to be brought to the boil in a saucepan with about a cup of chopped dates (you can use dried chopped dates instead of fresh if these are not available). Then take it off the heat and add the 1 teaspoon of Baking Soda. It will fizz up quite a bit so don't be alarmed. Leave it to cool while you pretty much follow the rest of this recipe. The recipe I have calls for more flour though (1 1/2 cups of self-rising flour) which may explain why some found this version to be "mushy". I have found that this cooks very well in a greased glass 9-inch pie dish cooked for about 40-45 mins. I only gave this version 4 stars though because the other recipe makes a richer, better tasting sauce. (Dissolve 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream, stir over heat without boiling. When sugar is dissolved take it off the heat and add 1 stick and 1 Tbs chopped butter, stir until dissolved). You can serve the sauce poured over the pudding if you like a cake-like consistency but if you like a "gooier" sticky pudding, poke some holes in the top and spoon some of the sauce over it so it soaks in. You can then serve with more sauce if wanted. Hope this additional information helps and that you enjoy this traditional "down under" favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States