Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been making this recipe every Christmas for 7 or 8 years. It is pure heaven. The recipe is perfect the way it is...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe but better with a few mods: We added hot water to the dates to cover them so as to make about 2 cups total. We used less sugar in the cake - 1/2 cup For the sauce I first mixed the butter and sugar till it melted an bubbled for 4 minutes, stirring constantly. I then added the concentrated milk and about 1/3 cup of 2% milk to thin the caramel. Next time I make this I make make it even thinner by skipping evaporated milk all-together. The intent is to make something that soaks more easily into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Mmm, I want another piece! This was good, but I'm not sure where the "pudding" comes in. I expected a soft, soupy lower layer but this was a date cake. Very quick & easy to make. The cake was good on its own, but with a little drizzle of caramel, it was divine. We topped with whipped cream to cut the caramel's sweetness. Note: I would not bake with the caramel sauce poured overtop, that would be way too sweet. Thanks Maree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a decadent and elegant dessert, served with vanilla ice cream and warm caramel sauce. (I substituted heavy cream for the evaporated milk.) If you like dates, you might really like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I have really wanted to try this recipe for awhile, so I went out today and bought some dates. I made this as written and topped it with some caramel ice cream. It is rich, very sweet, and moist. I really enjoyed it, and since I didn't tell my son that he was eating dates, he said he really liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Wonderfully easy to make and extremely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
V.V.Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
there's a better recipe out there on another popular site, but this is fine as well. do NOT skip the dates, or substitute. it imparts a particularly subtle but integral taste/texture. i also make sure to cook to or beyond the recommended time, since i saturate with hot toffee anyhow, and that overcomes any dryness...better than a raw cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Awesome! I've had this a couple times eating out and loved it every time. finding this recipe I had to try it at home - to be honest, I've never had better! I baked it in a bundt pan and did what a couple reviewers had suggested (I doubled the sauce and didn't add the milk and vanilla until the sugar/butter mixture had reached soft ball stage), I also poked holes in the pudding when it was done and poured 1/2 the sauce all over it and put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes - a heavenly delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious and oh so sweet! The recipe seems accurate, but the instructions for the caramel sauce should be clarified. Whenever you make caramel sauce, you should always cook the sugar with the butter ONLY until it reaches a "soft" ball stage - after about 5 minutes of continuous surface bubbling. Only THEN do you add the cream or milk and vanilla. You won't end up with that greasy separated mess that some have described. Serving the warm sauce over the sweet cake and a lump of vanilla ice cream is a perfect way to end a special evening's meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States