Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was a bit confused by the directions. It says to pour enough boiling water over dates to just cover them. Then later you pour the date mixture including the water into the batter. Do they mean only the water on the dates or do you include the rest of the water? I found this a bit confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardy Pifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Giving it four stars for being absolutely delicious, but my goodness, look at the calories and carbs! I'm going to adapt this into a South Beach-friendly recipe using Splenda white and Splenda brown sugars, almond or coconut flour, and more eggs. That should drop the carbs down considerably and the calorie count. I'd have to ditch the caramel all together, though, unless I made it with Splenda and something other than butter....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey_Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is an old dessert but a good one we serve it in our dinning room at the culinary arts school I attend and it always sells out. We add spiced pecans to give it another level of texture around the pudding. Baked in a muffin tin or a small cake mold and it can be a nice plated dessert. Keep it warm and it is so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IcyLisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I did use my own recipe for the caramel sauce, but the cake was extremely good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Everyone loved this. My 5 year old stated that he wants it for his birthday cake...in 6 months. It is his "favorite." My only issue was that the cake took a lot longer to bake than stated. Also, I was confused about the water on the dates and then adding water later...is it all 1.5 cups on the dates? That is what I did and it seemed to work. I added the baking soda with the rest of the dry ingredients and it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The caramel/toffee sauce on this cake is amazing! I did cut back the brown sugar to just a little over 1/2 cup and thought it was still quite sweet enough. I also didn't find it necessary to cook to the soft ball stage before adding the milk and vanilla. I simmered for about 6-7 minutes then whisked in the milk and vanilla until smooth and poured over the cake (which I had poked holes in with a skewer). The sauce shouldn't be too thick or it won't seep down into the cake as well. In my opinion the chunks of dates took away from the cake a little but the flavor is still great. Next time I will puree the beats with hot water then return to the pot and bring to a simmer before adding the baking soda. I will definitely be making this cake again as it is very different from any other dessert I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Absolutley fabulous. I made it for Christmas dinner dessert and the whole family raved about it! There wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been making this recipe every Christmas for 7 or 8 years. It is pure heaven. The recipe is perfect the way it is...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe but better with a few mods: We added hot water to the dates to cover them so as to make about 2 cups total. We used less sugar in the cake - 1/2 cup For the sauce I first mixed the butter and sugar till it melted an bubbled for 4 minutes, stirring constantly. I then added the concentrated milk and about 1/3 cup of 2% milk to thin the caramel. Next time I make this I make make it even thinner by skipping evaporated milk all-together. The intent is to make something that soaks more easily into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Mmm, I want another piece! This was good, but I'm not sure where the "pudding" comes in. I expected a soft, soupy lower layer but this was a date cake. Very quick & easy to make. The cake was good on its own, but with a little drizzle of caramel, it was divine. We topped with whipped cream to cut the caramel's sweetness. Note: I would not bake with the caramel sauce poured overtop, that would be way too sweet. Thanks Maree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States