Sticky Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very very yummy and super easy! I actually would have given it 5 stars, but I accidentally used Worcester sauce instead of soy sauce, so it didn't caramelize enough. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was good. I made it with homemade soy sauce. It turned out very tasty. I liked the idea of the sticky coating from the honey, but this was a lil too honey tasting fr me. I will be making again with some personal adjustments. The recipe was exactly what I was looking for! Thank you so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Directions say to "dip" the chicken into the sauce and then "place" it into the baking sheet, so all that sauce gets wasted if the recipe is followed exactly. Instead, I plopped the chicken into the sauce, swirled it around, and then dumped everything into the baking sheet. I couldn't bring myself to waste all the leftover sauce. Smells awesome while cooking! Decent flavor. Not completely satisfied with the end result. It wasn't as sweet as I had anticipated. It's just "meh."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was pretty good but not very authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
made this twice. 1st time exactly as stated. 2nd time i used boneless skinless chicken tenders that i floured with salt and pepper and browned in sautee pan, then added 1/4 stick of butter... honey and soy sauce... made a fantastic sauce. i served with steamed white rice and zucchini..great meal will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars because my daughter loved it, but the sauce did not stick to the chicken and it was way too sweet. Next time I wont add so much honey. Over all it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
We liked this but I would have liked it better if the sauce was thick. It never "glazed" for me. Instead, it was very thin. I will make it again but I will cook the sauce first and thicken it with cornstarch before pouring it over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My family really liked this recipe but I did make some changes. I used half soy sauce and half teryaiki sauce to make up the 1/4c. in the recipe. I also added fresh diced ginger and used orange juice instead of lemon juice. I used this mixture to dip the chicken into and then sprinkled the sesame seeds on top. I then added 1 tbsp. of cornstarch to the mixture and heated it until thick. This was the sauce I spooned over the chicken before putting it into the oven. It was really good served with broccoli and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
For a quick meal it was pretty good with a couple of tweaks. I decided to fix it on the stove top in a non stick pan. I started with the ingredients as written, heated sauce tasted and then added about 2 Tbs peanutbutter, 1 Tbs sweet chili sauce, would have added fresh Ginger but didn't have any, then added a dash of 5 spice. Once I got the sauce flavorful I added the cut chicken thighs and sautéd until chicken was done and sauce was nice and sticky. Served with grilled asparagus over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This just plain wasn't very good. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't good, either. I did it stove top, since I didn't want my boneless, skinless breasts to get dried out in the oven, and thought the sauce might have a chance to thicken and coat better in a skillet. It just just sweet. Didn't have any flavor other than sweet. I subbed rice wine vinegar for the lemon juice thinking it would be more authentic. Just.. blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States