Sticky Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
My girls are getting tired of chicken lately, but this recipe got a request that it gets made next week again. Very little prep time. Easily doubled or tripled for company. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was a simple recipe that looked gorgeous as it caramelized and tasted almost as good. I didn't have any sesame seeds so I added a splash of sesame oil and then after the chicken cooked I drizzled a few extra drops over the chicken. Also, I used chicken pieces on the bone (a whole chicken cut into 8 pieces) and I think because it took almost twice as long to cook the glaze benefitted from the extra time and turned a deep color. Beautiful. My teenage son and my husband scarfed down the whole chicken (a single wing leftover) and used the extra glaze/pan drippings (which I defatted with my defatter cup) over the rice and broccoli and chicken on the plate. I give this 5 stars, but next time I might add a crushed garlic clove or two. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yummy and easy. I am a lazy cook, so I just poured the sauce over frozen chicken breasts and cooked for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made a GREAT mistake with this and I thought I'd share. I grabbed the teriyaki sauce out of my fridge instead of the soy sauce- it tasted just like what my husband and I get at the local chinese except it isn't as crunchy because it isn't fried. I also made fried rice to go alongside this. I made the rice with additional honey+teriyaki sauce and it was great. Next time I think I will cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces and just toss it with the fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WilliamsSowers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
REALLY good recipe! I just eyeballed the quantities. Also added some grated fresh ginger and garlic. I just poured the mixture over chicken thighs. I spooned the mixture over the chicken every 10 mins while it cooked, and it turned out juicy and flavorful! VERY quick and tasty. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
very good. we both loved it, I drizzled a bit of the left over sauce on the chicken before putting it in the oven, next time I will use all of the left over sauce this way, it was so tasty and it went very well with our stir fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My family really liked this recipe but I did make some changes. I used half soy sauce and half teryaiki sauce to make up the 1/4c. in the recipe. I also added fresh diced ginger and used orange juice instead of lemon juice. I used this mixture to dip the chicken into and then sprinkled the sesame seeds on top. I then added 1 tbsp. of cornstarch to the mixture and heated it until thick. This was the sauce I spooned over the chicken before putting it into the oven. It was really good served with broccoli and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I took it to a pot luck - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
So good! The sauce does come out somewhat runny, not thick and goopy like restaurant Sesame Chicken, but I think that's a good thing-- spooning it over rice is a lot easier. I'd also recommend sprinkling the sesame seeds on top of the chicken in the pan, rather than mixing it into the sauce/marinade. Finally, make sure you have friends or family to share it with, otherwise you may be tempted to eat it all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camptown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Yum! This was very good, and SO easy! I basted the chicken with the leftover sauce a couple of times during cooking, making sure to get all the sesame seeds on the chicken. This is definitely a keeper recipe that I will make again. I took the leftover chicken from dinner, cut into small pieces, and added chopped celery, some pecan pieces, and a little bit of mayo, making a wonderful chicken salad for the next day, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States