Sticky Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
good for how easy it was to make, I added ground ginger for some extra taste. Next time I think I will add peanut butter and chili garlic sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was a simple recipe that looked gorgeous as it caramelized and tasted almost as good. I didn't have any sesame seeds so I added a splash of sesame oil and then after the chicken cooked I drizzled a few extra drops over the chicken. Also, I used chicken pieces on the bone (a whole chicken cut into 8 pieces) and I think because it took almost twice as long to cook the glaze benefitted from the extra time and turned a deep color. Beautiful. My teenage son and my husband scarfed down the whole chicken (a single wing leftover) and used the extra glaze/pan drippings (which I defatted with my defatter cup) over the rice and broccoli and chicken on the plate. I give this 5 stars, but next time I might add a crushed garlic clove or two. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Ridiculously easy to make and very very good. I only had a little bit of honey so I did 1/4 cup honey but added 1/4 cup of maple syrup. I also salted and peppered the chicken before I added the sauce. The result was spectacular. Everyone loved it and I will be making this again. A recipe does not have to be complicated to be good. The only thing I will do next time is flip over the chicken during cooking so it can soak in the flavor on both sides. When done don't dump the juice, use it as a sauce for rice or some other side. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My family really liked this recipe but I did make some changes. I used half soy sauce and half teryaiki sauce to make up the 1/4c. in the recipe. I also added fresh diced ginger and used orange juice instead of lemon juice. I used this mixture to dip the chicken into and then sprinkled the sesame seeds on top. I then added 1 tbsp. of cornstarch to the mixture and heated it until thick. This was the sauce I spooned over the chicken before putting it into the oven. It was really good served with broccoli and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This just plain wasn't very good. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't good, either. I did it stove top, since I didn't want my boneless, skinless breasts to get dried out in the oven, and thought the sauce might have a chance to thicken and coat better in a skillet. It just just sweet. Didn't have any flavor other than sweet. I subbed rice wine vinegar for the lemon juice thinking it would be more authentic. Just.. blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
REALLY good recipe! I just eyeballed the quantities. Also added some grated fresh ginger and garlic. I just poured the mixture over chicken thighs. I spooned the mixture over the chicken every 10 mins while it cooked, and it turned out juicy and flavorful! VERY quick and tasty. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yummy and easy. I am a lazy cook, so I just poured the sauce over frozen chicken breasts and cooked for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
For a quick meal it was pretty good with a couple of tweaks. I decided to fix it on the stove top in a non stick pan. I started with the ingredients as written, heated sauce tasted and then added about 2 Tbs peanutbutter, 1 Tbs sweet chili sauce, would have added fresh Ginger but didn't have any, then added a dash of 5 spice. Once I got the sauce flavorful I added the cut chicken thighs and sautéd until chicken was done and sauce was nice and sticky. Served with grilled asparagus over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I liked the way the sauce tasted, but it didn't stick to the chicken at all. It made a huge mess in the pan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
My girls are getting tired of chicken lately, but this recipe got a request that it gets made next week again. Very little prep time. Easily doubled or tripled for company. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States