Sticky Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The sauce was good before I cooked it. The only thing is I tried to convert this into a crockpot recipe because I get home late and lost a lot of the flavor in the long cooking time. Will definately try again in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The first time I made this, I loved the flavour, but didn't like that the sauce seemed thin. Still, I would give it four stars. To make it even better, though, here's what I do: (1) remove from oven, (2) remove chicken and pour sauce into pan, (3) bring to a boil, (4) mix together 1/4 c cold water and 1 1/2 tbsp flour and whisk into the boiling sauce, (5) cook until thickened and pour over chicken. You may have to adjust the amount of flour, depending on the desired thickness and amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
REALLY good recipe! I just eyeballed the quantities. Also added some grated fresh ginger and garlic. I just poured the mixture over chicken thighs. I spooned the mixture over the chicken every 10 mins while it cooked, and it turned out juicy and flavorful! VERY quick and tasty. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Yum! This was very good, and SO easy! I basted the chicken with the leftover sauce a couple of times during cooking, making sure to get all the sesame seeds on the chicken. This is definitely a keeper recipe that I will make again. I took the leftover chicken from dinner, cut into small pieces, and added chopped celery, some pecan pieces, and a little bit of mayo, making a wonderful chicken salad for the next day, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
So good! The sauce does come out somewhat runny, not thick and goopy like restaurant Sesame Chicken, but I think that's a good thing-- spooning it over rice is a lot easier. I'd also recommend sprinkling the sesame seeds on top of the chicken in the pan, rather than mixing it into the sauce/marinade. Finally, make sure you have friends or family to share it with, otherwise you may be tempted to eat it all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camptown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
After adding a dash or two of ginger and garlic, the marinade was pretty good, however, it was very watery and didn't coat the chicken well. I felt like I wasted the majority of the seasame seeds and soy mixture. Also, the marinade ran off the chicken while cooking and burned onto the pan and scorched the chicken. Also, I used chicken tenderloins because that cut down the prep time. Needless to say, this was a very messy meal and I don't think it is worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
very good. we both loved it, I drizzled a bit of the left over sauce on the chicken before putting it in the oven, next time I will use all of the left over sauce this way, it was so tasty and it went very well with our stir fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made a GREAT mistake with this and I thought I'd share. I grabbed the teriyaki sauce out of my fridge instead of the soy sauce- it tasted just like what my husband and I get at the local chinese except it isn't as crunchy because it isn't fried. I also made fried rice to go alongside this. I made the rice with additional honey+teriyaki sauce and it was great. Next time I think I will cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces and just toss it with the fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WilliamsSowers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I took it to a pot luck - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
The sauce does not stick to the chicken and is thin. Would be better if it thickened up a bit. I made this twice and even the second time it wasn't that good when I made it a little bit differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States