Sticky Monkey Brains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used three jumbo flaky tubes and tripled the sauce recipe. Put everything into a large Bundt pan. The top cooked perfectly after the allotted time, but the rest was not done. We ate the top layers and then reheated the bottom half for twenty minutes. Next time, I would cook longer and maybe use a thermometer to check the temp at the bottom of the pan. It was delicious, and people kept sneaking back to the kitchen to get another piece. It was actually my 17 year-old son who put it together, and he was so proud that he kept telling everybody how he was the one who made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
The kids like these but put a chocolate kiss in the middle of each peice of dough before shaping it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I...cannot...stop...eating...this!!! I used one tube of "jumbo" biscuits...and scaled the recipe for 4 servings. Being short on a bundt pan, I used one round cake pan lined with foil (based on another review) and it turned out great. Thanks a million!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I used one package of generic, cheap biscuits for this recipe and cut each biscuit into 6 pieces. Tossed and coated in a zip-loc and then placed in a muffin pan. Made 6 muffin sized monkey brains. This was so easy, and was yummy. This is a no-brainer:) and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe! I made it in just a regular cake pan, and baked it for about 40 mins. It turned out perfect and so good! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These were delicious! However, they didn't turn out sticky. I ended up added more sugar and butter than the recipe called for trying to get them stickier. I gave up and they still tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Really good! I tried it 1st in a large bunt pan - didn't want to go out and buy 6 small ones. It didn't cook through and I ended up dumping it into a pan and cooking it an extra 15 minutes for the middle/top to cook. The 2nd time I made it, I just used a cake pan and it turned out great. I also used 1 package of Grands Cinnamon Rolls and 1 regular size roll of bisquits mixed together. Then I drizzled the icing on top just before serving. They were AMAZING and got rave reviews from guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was pretty good. It's definitely something the kids can help with... sorta make a production line. One can cut up the biscuit dough, one can drop it into the sugar mixture and one can put it in the pan. I think it's important to make the pcs small enough because they do rise and they could be too dry if smaller pcs are not used. This turned out well but it wasn't very good reheated... a little hard. It is very sweet, but not like the monkey bread in the frozen food aisle at the grocery store. That one is really soft which is what i was hoping for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
These were very easy, and very good!! My kids ate them up quickly! This will be around for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I cut the biscuits with kitchen shears and omitted the pecans because of nut allergies. I used only one can and cut in half the rest. Shake small pieces in bag. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States