Sticky Monkey Brains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love this recipe! I was one of the first desserts I learned how to make, way bake in 7th grade home-ec. An easy classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Shields Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I've made these a few times and everyone who has tried them has loved them. I baked them in a regular bundt pan because a didn't have the small ones. I put half of the biscuits in and then poured half of the butter and brown sugar mixture. I added the remaining biscuits and the remaining butter and brown sugar mixture and baked for 40 minutes. I omit the pecans because my kids don't care for them. I sometimes increase the butter and brown sugar to 1cup each to make them extra sticky. I invert the pan while they are still hot so that they don't stick to the pan. Also make sure you invert into a dish that is wider that the bundt pan because the sugar runs down the onto the plate when you invert. Give this recipe a try everyone will LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Really good. Easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
WOW!! Tried these tonight for dessert with some guests and they are GREAt!!! I think the best part is the easy-ness and the simple indg's too also I only had a pan, bowl, measuring spoon, and measuring cup to wash afterwards!! I didnt have a bundt so I used a pie pan and it worked fine, but I only used 2 cans of Biscuits not 3 otherwise I followed everything exactly and YUMMMMMMMMM!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Yumm! Only thing I do different is make a little extra butter/brown sugar and put a layer of glaze in the middle as well as on the top. Otherwise, the middle is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was really, really good! Easy too. I thought I had pecans but did not, so I had to use walnuts. Pecans probably would have been even yummier! I also did not have a bundt pan, and when I went to buy it, it was $20!! I ran into a friend at the grocery store, she said to use a regular 9x13 pan and just flop it over into the serving dish. I did and it worked fine, probably just not as pretty! I think it is our new Christmas morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
easy recipe. when i took them out of the oven and flipped them to serve i got some of the gooey stuff on my mitts and the counter. not sure how long i can wait before they stick to the pan but next time i'm waiting at least 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Unfortunately, i was not very impressed with these. I followed the recipe except omitted the pecans and subbed raisins. I baked in a regular bundt pan but the middle and bottom was raw after the 20 minutes. i tried to cook for another 15 minutes but still did not cook. i finally had to move the whole thing to a 9x13, where they eventually did cook, but were a bit dry. will try looking for another recipe, the ingredients are cheap so it is good to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The brains were just OK. Maybe it was the ready made dough - it just didn't taste fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quick and easy. Used walnuts instead of pecans. I also used a casserole dish instead of bundt pans. This tasted delicious without being overly sweet...and my kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States