Sticky Monkey Brains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a recipe I have used since I was a little girl with one exception we would roll the biscut balls in the butter first then the cinnamon and sugar mix before putting the balls into the pan. After putting all the dough in then mix the remainder of the butter and cinnamon and sugar mix and pour it on top. This step only adds to the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a definite keeper! I had only been looking for an easy recipe that 2 seven year-olds could help me make and this fit the bill. Still, I was a bit skeptical about using the canned biscuits because that "canned biscuit flavor" usually comes through in anything you make with them. Not so with these! They were outstanding! Neither of the kids like nuts, so we didn't use them. I don't own a bundt pan of any size, so we we split 3 cans of biscuits (each biscuit cut into 6 pieces) between 2 round cake pans. To avoid cleaning burnt-on sugar off the pans, I lined them with foil, buttered the foil, and sprinkled the bottom and sides with cinnamon sugar before proceeding with the recipe. We shared them with company who popped by and not a sound could be heard while we all indulged in buttery, sugary bliss. Thanks for posting this. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was really good - actually better than I expected. I used 1-1/2 cans jumbo "flaky" biscuits. I used a full-size bundt pan for this and baked it for 35-40 minutes. The biscuits were perfectly done. My only complaint was that my brains weren't stickier. Next time I'll add 50% more of the brown sugar/butter mixture. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
The title is disgusting, but the product is great! I used two cans and cut each biscuit in half. I put the sugar mixture into a plastic bag and shook the biscuits in them to coat better. Having made them now, I wouldn't put the pecans on the bottom b/c they just burnt and didn't stick to the biscuit. When they came out of the oven, I wanted to add frosting. I had a container of Betty Crocker Frosting I had bought, so I just heated it in the microwave for 15 seconds and drizzled that on top and sprinkled more nuts on top of that. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This recipe won me first prize in my family's annual cooking competition. The first time I made this I used Pillsbury's country biscuit dough (2 x 340g packages -about 40g more than the recipe called for - so I left one of the precut biscuits out) and I found it incredibly salty (4 stars). The second time, I went with the same amount of Pilsbury FLAKY ROLL dough and it was FANTASTIC. I used 6 aluminum foil mini cake pans with a single layer of dough balls in the bottom and they were perfect. I used the cooking time in this recipe, although the instructions on the package of dough said to only cook 11-13 mins - and they did not overcook. The stickiness is my favourite part so I use half again as much butter/brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is an awesome recipe, and I have been it this way for a couple years now. If you really want to up the anty, add a piece of cream cheese in the middle of each ball of dough. HEAVENLY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fithian, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint John, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
The topping is fabulous! Since I didn't have refrigerated biscuit dough, I used frozen diller roll dough, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I made this today for our ladies group at church. What a mess. Im only giving it 2 stars b/c i see that it COULD be worked with and made into a good recipe. Sadly it didnt work out so well. Yes, i do admit i didnt do it in the 6 individual bundt pans. I did it in one large one and the biscuits didnt want to rise b/c they were weighed down by everything, or so it seemed. Also the biscuits wouldnt cook in the middle. The top was about to burn, while the insides were gooey still. So i had to turn out the whole thing onto a baking sheet and bake it like that. Well then it was so dry and basically burnt on the outside b/c of all the sugar that it was not very tasty at all. Good thing the ingredients werent expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookin4my6
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
We love this recipe!! It wasnt on purpose that we changed it but I thought I was minus a can of biscuits so I improvised with a package of cinnamon rolls we had. So we incorporated the cinnamon roll dough into the biscuit dough and then of course used the icing to top off the sticky monkey brains! Not that this recipe needed anymore calories or sugar content but I think it's great for an occasional treat. And it's absolutley delicious! I also didnt have the bundt pans and had to substitute using a different kind of pan. My cooking time was a little longer by 5-10 minutes because of the type of pan and the layering. I don't recommend doing more than 2 layers or the bottom dough will not bake up correctly. Thanks much to whoever posted this...it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4my6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Awesome, awesome recipe! Talk about easy, and talk about good...if you do, you'll be talkin' about monkey brains with sugar on top! Today was my son's 8th birthday, and I wanted something as a treat for breakfast before school. Working on all the other stuff for his birthday didn't really leave time for something like home-made cinnamon rolls. These were so easy to make -- and did I mention that they're good?! One word of caution: When inverting rolls, do so slowly. I'm used to muffins needing a bit of persuasion to get out of their bundts; accordingly, I turned the pan over and immediately gave it a shake. What a tasty mess, though! Thanks for an outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States