Sticky Monkey Brains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Oh. My. Gosh. These are so yummy! I felt so fancy serving them to my husband for breakfast with his favorite coffee! :) I wasn't able to make the recipe according to the ingredient list since I only had some things on hand, so here were my substitutions: 1 can of Pillsbury Grands, used my muffin tin that makes six large muffins, added raisins, used walnuts. I also made a cream cheese glaze/loose icing for dipping the 'brains' into on the side! LOVING THIIIISSS!!! Even without having been able to make it according to the specific instructions, this still turned out deliciously! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I let my three kids help me make these today and they were a huge hit! I made something similar to this in high school and had to go back to that recipe in a pinch, because I was running low on butter. I dipped by biscuit in milk and then in the cinnamon sugar mixture. Then I mixed what butter I had with the brown sugar and poured it over top. I, too, used one large pan and they needed a little longer cooking time, but they were well worth the wait. The kids want monkey brains again....soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Yummy, yummy, yummy. Made these for Easter brunch... when my brother came he immediately asked, "where's the munchies?" So, I pulled these sticky rolls out of the oven and he said, "So that's what smells so good!!" They were a big hit. I don't have any bundt pans, so I doubled the recipe and put them in a 13x9 baking dish and they still turned out good. Some of them got a little crispy, so make sure you don't over bake! Thanks for a delicious and easy breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rapinka82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this for my in laws and they loved it! Great recipe and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was really good - actually better than I expected. I used 1-1/2 cans jumbo "flaky" biscuits. I used a full-size bundt pan for this and baked it for 35-40 minutes. The biscuits were perfectly done. My only complaint was that my brains weren't stickier. Next time I'll add 50% more of the brown sugar/butter mixture. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
SOOOOOO good. a definite must try! You can just use a normal size bunt pan too. And be sure to make cream cheese icing to dip your pieces into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Heavenly! Oh soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Yummy! This was delicious and gooey! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Gross name but oh so good. We call it Monkey Bread or Pull Apart Bread. I use a regular size bunt pan and invert it onto a large serving dish about 10 minutes out of the oven so it catches all the gooey goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is similar to my old favorite however the name is Monkey "Bread" not brains?ewww? Also I use a casserole dish, walnuts and I cook the brown sugar mixture to boil for 2minutes then pour over and bake. If you really have a sweet tooth (my kids do) I also make a powdered sugar/milk/vanilla glaze and pour over after I invert and cool for 5 minutes- serve after 10...YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENI0811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Berkley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States