Sticky Monkey Brains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BLUEEYEZ58
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe is the BOMB! I made it exactly as written, except that the "small" bundt pans I own are only about 4-1/2" deep and are all contained on one pan (6 small bundt molds on one sheet--like a cookie sheet). I'm wondering if Sugisugi had larger, individual bundt pans than I do, because she was able to use all (3) 7.5 oz. packages of biscuits that the recipe calls for, and there's no way that 3 packages would fit using my small bundt pans. I ended up just using 2 packages of biscuits, along with the full amount of ingredients for the rest of the recipe. I then inverted the individual bundt servings onto the cookie sheet when they were done baking. These were even better than our local breakfast/pastry shop's Sticky Buns (which is saying something!). I assembled all the ingredients that I was able to the night before, set the oven to be pre-heated by the time I got up in the morning, and then in less than 10 minutes they were ready for the oven. Twenty minutes later, they were done. Perfection! Thanks for the great recipe, Sugisugi! They will definitely be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Easy and yummy, we cannot stop eating it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We call this monkey bread. I put red or green cherries and walnuts on bottom of pan alternating them and sprinkle brown sugar over it (very pretty when turned out on plate.). Use some of the jar cherry juice mixed with butter. I dip biscuits in melted butter then shake in large ziplock bag with sugar mixture layering it in large bundt pan. Pour remaining butter and cherry juice over all. When baking 45 min at 350 or a bit more keep an eye on it. If browning lay a piece of foil loosely on top. Really yummy and so beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I've made these as the Sunday morning breakfast treat for a long time and my family loves them. The only changes I have made is to increase to four cans and up the cinnamon/sugar mixture accordingly. I do roll them in the butter before tossing into the sugar/cinnamon mixture as one reviewer stated. And to make them extra tasty and sticky, I drizzle maple syrup on top before baking. They are devoured in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I make this all the time minus the pecans because we don't like. Another version I make on Christmas morning is using the Grands biscuits and I lay them next to each other in the bundt pan! Of course you must sprinkle with powdered sugar when you serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Up'd everything because I am feeding teenage man/boys. I don't make mini Bundt pan sized anything. Tweaker Alert: I used four 7 oz. plain biscuit rolls and 1/2 cup of cinnamon sugar for dipping them. Up'd the butter and brown sugar (both) to 3/4 cup. Cooked it for 32 minutes at 350 in a full sized Bundt pan that is coated. 1st Teenager to arrive in the kitchen said the smell woke him up. When he saw it plated he said: "OMG YES!" Smells amazing - took a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used Bridgeford frozen dough bread Let rise and bake Then pulled apart and followed recipe Used large bundt pan Disappointed pieces did not stick together I even wrapped in plastic like a popcorn ball still didn't happen I wanted a well shaped appearance that people could pull apart But flavor was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Needs 55 minutes to bake in a full size bunt cake pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natgagnon1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alexandria, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Tried this recipe today for our church missionary's and a sister and there were raves all around. I did add to the cooking time as I used an old glass bunt pan and the middle hadn't cooked at all. All in all we loved the recipe a lot . Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States