Sticky Buns II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Dough was on the sticky/wet side so I just kept adding flour until it looked like dough you could roll out on the counter. Buns turned out ok. The bun fell apart really easily and the topping was dry and crumbly, not sticky in the least. I would use more butter next time in the filling to help the brown sugar melt better. Tasted good. But still a little disapointed with the end results. I will be looking for another recipe . maybe adding an egg to the bread would help things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckaMax

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Great!! I adore this recipe and will use it again. The only thing I think I'll do different is brush the dough with the butter and sprinkle on the sugar and cinnamon...it just seems easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Tried this recipe with good success. It's especially good for fast satisfaction. The texture is more like pastry than bread (not surprised there, though I tend to like the bread form better). I subsituted sliced almonds for raisins, and baked it in a 9x9 cake pan for lack of muffin tins. I made extra filling and did a thin layer on the bottom of the pan, and another thin layer on top of them, and they turned out nice and sticky. They were best hot, with thick vanilla icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These were quick and easy (maybe 40 minutes total from start to snacktime!), and the taste was fine. They weren't really sticky, even though I added a little corn syrup, but they did taste nice. Some of the topping stuck inside the muffin cups, but not all of it. The dough is really easy to work with if you add your milk slowly. Don't just dump it all in, mix, and find it's way too wet. Add 1/2 or 3/4 of the amount called for, mix it, and if you need more, add more. I made a half-batch (only 6, to test the recipe!) and I only used maybe 1/3 cup of milk. If you do find your dough is too wet to work with, mix in some more flour! Or all you'll have is a gloppy mess that you can't work with. Make sure your board is floured and you flip your dough around so both sides are lightly floured. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
they are great with icing....a batch doesnt last 5 minutes with the kids =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
sooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
They kind of tasted like snickerdoodles. Making them in a muffin tray was a good idea however
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This is a very easy recipe, and very good! I use it all the time! Sometimes I sustitute pecans in place of the raisins, too. This is the easiest and best tasting Sticky Buns recipe I have found!!! 5 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Yummy yummy - they were gone in a flash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
A delicious roll that is sticky only before it bakes. To deal with the dough, I rolled it around in some flour (just a tablespoon full). Then I manipulated it with a floured spatula as I went along, rolling it up. When it separated or thinned, I patched it up with my floured fingers. Next, I used dental floss to cut the jelly roll. It cut easily and I scooped up the slices with the floured spatula. Instead of using a muffin tin, I created about 7 rolls that I laid flat on a buttered cookie sheet. I cooked them at 345 for 24 mintues. Next I combined powdered sugar, a bit of orange juice and a tad of corn starch for the icing. The corn starch keeps the icing from being too sticky and it hardens on the rolls like you see in the stores. All and all, a high-maintenance, good recipe that skips the yeast! Yeah! Yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States