Sticky Buns II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good! My favorite part is that they are yeast free. For those that are looking for a typical "doughy" texture, you should look elsewhere--but for those that are content with a great "biscuity brown sugary" goodness, look no further! The bun mixture is sticky however with perseverance, patience and extra flour at hand to keep the dough and your hands from sticking together it will all work out just fine. Thank you for this lovely, easy recipe that requires very accessible and common pantry ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I'm eating one of these as I type, mmmmm - yummm. My 3 kiddies are licking there fingers contentedly! These are my new go-to cinnamon buns, you can make them the same morning you want to serve them, I find the traditional yeast ones far too long to make for a fresh morning feast. To make these 5 star I did have to alter slightly :) : As many others have said the dough is far too sticky to knead, so I stirred in about 3/4 cup more flour to the bowl until it came together, then I kneaded in another 1/4 - 1/2 cup of flour. (I should note that I had doubled the recipe). This made a beautiful fluffy dough that was manageable on a floured surface. When the dough was rolled out I spread the butter over the dough then sprinkled an abundant amount of brown sugar/ cinnamon mixture over the top and rolled up. I took another users advice and used dental floss to slice - love this idea!! I then put them snugly on a cookie sheet sidexside. My doubled recipe made 13 cinnamon buns. They baked for around 30 minutes and are deee lish! I put a cream cheese/icing sugar/milk glaze over the top. They are more "biscuity" then traditional yeast buns, but this is not a complaint. Terrific! Thank-you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
ok i dont usually give 5 stars but this one deserved it. i wasnt going to make it because i had read so many bad reviews and the people who left good reviews didnt explain why it was good or why it worked out for them. the dough is sticky and can be dificult to work with if you are clumbsy or , but i am neither of these so i floured the bottom of a cookie sheet and rather than rolling the dough i used my floured hands to spread it till it was about an inch thick. also rather than knead the dough i just used the same spoon i had used to mix the ingredients to sort of knead it without using my hands. also i used a floured spatula to scrape the dough off of the cookie sheet when i was rolling it and i floured my knife frequently when slicing the rolls. this recipe took me 20 min to prepare and 20 min to cook plus 10 min to cool. it was delish! and i wont make regular cinnomon rolls ever again because these are easier and waay faster and tase just as good. i didnt even add icing to these. if you just realize this is a very sticky dough and handle accordingly, you will be fine. id give 10 stars if i could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I cannot understand how this recipe gets such great reviews. The major problem is the dough. Once I mixed everything together (and I measure everything precisely) the dough wasn't anywhere NEAR stiff enough to knead, let alone roll out. It didn't even "pull together" like dough does. I had to add more flour, which I did a little at a time, just to be able to get it out of the bowl in one piece. All in all, I probably added at least another 1 1/2 cups of flour, which I also added in a smidge of extra baking powder and salt to accomadate for. There has to be something wrong with the measurments in the ingredient list, a typo maybe? Secondly, the filling isn't sticky at all. What didn't spill out onto the top of the muffin pan and burn, was dry and hard. And I even pulled it out of the oven almost 10 minutes early, because I smelled burnt sugar. The reason I'm giving this recipe 2 stars is because after everything, the "sticky buns" tasted ok. They were edible. Not a recipe I will ever use again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Great recipe. I did add more filling and topping...very tasty! Especially for last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
OMG!!!!!!!! THIS RECIPE WAS THE BEST THING MY TATSE BUDS HAVE RECIEVED SINCE VIETNAM!!!!! HOOA! GO MARINES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My 10 year old daughter and I decided to make these on a Sunday Morning.....I did not care for this recipe. Dough? not from this recipe it was way too wet..we added flour but it was impossible to roll out. We salvaged this "dough" and tried to make muffins but we will definitely not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I really liked these. they were easy to make and my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Wonderfully delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States