Sticks and Stones Candy Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I found this inspiration using an ingredients search for the butterscotch chips. I was trying to get rid of some other excess seasonal ingredients as well. Instead of going out to buy more stuff, such as the pretzel sticks, I substituted broken party crackers. I used orange-flavored dried cranberries instead of the chocolate covered raisins, and chopped mixed nuts and some sunflower seeds for the peanuts, and as someone else suggested I added mini marshmallows. The melted ingredients -- the mortar -- I did exactly as written, and I kept all the proportions of the other items as in the original. The result was addictive. I will make this again with whatever variation may present itself. Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Good and very easy!!!! I didn't have enough chocolate covered raisins, next time I will make sure I do, as it really adds to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is a really cool idea, but I changed the ratio of chocolate and butterscotch because I think butterscotch is too sweet. Because I used more chocolate, I used regular raisins - not chocolate covered. Even with my adaptation, people seemed to really like this candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is awesome!! I added dried cranberries and it was so good, makes a ton. I bet it would be good with marshmallows too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is delicious!! Simple and wonderful. I left out the raisins and added another cup of peanuts...MMmmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
So delicious - people were asking for the recipe and sneaking seconds. Easy to make as well. Will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was a hit! I omitted the chocolate covered raisins (not raisin fans). I substituted more pretzels and peanuts instead! It was wonderful! Next time I'm going to try white chocolate chips instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I made this candy to take to my coworkers. They quickly gobbled it down. My husband liked it as well. My only problem with this recipe was that I could not find the nestle toll house semi-sweet chocolate raisins at any store. I had to substitute milk chocolate covered raisins instead. Also, I made a mistake and didn't save out the 1/2 bag of butterscotch morsels, but it really didn't effect the taste (just wasn't as pretty!). I guess I was rushing when I made it! It was very easy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen in Maryland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sykesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Very sweet treat!!! When I cut it apart to serve, there were a lot of crumbs and small chunks left behind in the pan--These are excellent as an ice cream topping or mixed into a shake! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Great treat! Made so much too! I just added some shredded coconut and some mini marshmellows to it. The kids went nuts over it but had to fight off the adults who were grabbing at it too! Good one for a big crowd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States