Stewed Tomatoes with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was extremely good! I added shredded cheddar to the baking mix and it was great. I will be making this regularly for my meatless Mondays and Fridays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I like stewed tomatoes and I like dumplings, but this did not work for me. The picture makes the dumplings almost look like soft biscuits. I followed the directions and they were like small hard dense dough pucks. The "stewed tomatoes" part was both too salty and sugary at the same time. It was not a good combination. This might work with homemade stewed tomatoes and biscuits, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Add basil too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimandJocelyn Morse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
With all the restaurants, gourment foods, and the latest and greatest cooking gadgets available, it's still hard to beat old-fashioned comfort food. This is so simple and s-o-o-o good for the palate and the soul. Thanks for reminding me of home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I really enjoyed this, the BF would not try it because I added Morning Star crumbles to it. I also followed another reviewers advice and added garlic, Italian seasoning, and a little parmesan. Also I used cheddar biscuit mix, because that was all my Target had at the time. Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Really yummy! I have never had anything like this before but it really served my dumpling craving well... I will be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Good. I added onion, garlic, and italian seasoning. I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and used made- from- scatch cornmeal dumplings. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was tasty, filling and simple to make. It's nothing spectacular, but I would definitely make it again. I omitted the sugar and used olive oil instead of butter. It surprisingly reheated nicely in the microwave the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Amazing! I added some parmesan, black pepper and garlic to the biscuit recipe. So so so homey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annmarie
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
wow this is truly a comfort food like another reviewer said. We are gluten free so I made this with gluten free bisquik, turned out really good. The timing is perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States