Stewed Tomatoes with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was extremely good! I added shredded cheddar to the baking mix and it was great. I will be making this regularly for my meatless Mondays and Fridays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I like stewed tomatoes and I like dumplings, but this did not work for me. The picture makes the dumplings almost look like soft biscuits. I followed the directions and they were like small hard dense dough pucks. The "stewed tomatoes" part was both too salty and sugary at the same time. It was not a good combination. This might work with homemade stewed tomatoes and biscuits, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Add basil too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimandJocelyn Morse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
With all the restaurants, gourment foods, and the latest and greatest cooking gadgets available, it's still hard to beat old-fashioned comfort food. This is so simple and s-o-o-o good for the palate and the soul. Thanks for reminding me of home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I really enjoyed this, the BF would not try it because I added Morning Star crumbles to it. I also followed another reviewers advice and added garlic, Italian seasoning, and a little parmesan. Also I used cheddar biscuit mix, because that was all my Target had at the time. Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Really yummy! I have never had anything like this before but it really served my dumpling craving well... I will be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Good. I added onion, garlic, and italian seasoning. I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and used made- from- scatch cornmeal dumplings. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was tasty, filling and simple to make. It's nothing spectacular, but I would definitely make it again. I omitted the sugar and used olive oil instead of butter. It surprisingly reheated nicely in the microwave the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Amazing! I added some parmesan, black pepper and garlic to the biscuit recipe. So so so homey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annmarie
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
wow this is truly a comfort food like another reviewer said. We are gluten free so I made this with gluten free bisquik, turned out really good. The timing is perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States