Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Everyone enjoyed this recipe as a great side dish! I modified it to make it a bit healthier by cooking the onions, celery, and garlic in 1/4 cup vegetable broth, instead of the butter, and it came out great. Thanks for a quick and easy addition to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYCAT1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My mother use to make this all the time. We make in a electric skillet & use 4 to 5 slices of bacon & use the grease from bacon drippings to the cabbage. Gives a much better flavor than regular butter. When finished cruble bacon pieces on top.. Yum yum good.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I made this tonight and it was delicious! I didn't have any stewed tomatos on hand, but did have two can of "Hunt's diced tomatoes with balsamic vinegar, basil and olive oil" which I threw in. Wow! The flavor was fantastic! Even my picky husband liked it. This was a new dish for us and it will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
A great recipe. However, as a person of Polish descent married to a Polish man we prefer to omit tomatoes and to throw in caraway seeds. My grandmother prepared her's that way and it brings out a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Yummmm! Sounds weird but boy was it GOOD. Even hubby who made a bad face at it, ate the whole bowl full. Followed the recipe but did add about a TBSP of bacon grease (it's a Southern thing! :) Chopped the cabbage up and only had to cook it about 25 minutes or so. I used a sweet Vadalia onion, which I thought was a bit "too" sweet, next time would use regular yellow onion or half regular, half Vadalia. Will make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This dish has become a favorite at our house. Everyone raves about it -- even people who swore they hated cabbage. Usually I sautee sliced sweet Italian sausage and add a bit of anise seed. Which makes a darned good dish. This evening, I was feeling a little adventuresome and wanted something more spicy. And seasoned the pot with basil, rosemary and thyme. Then, I added a can of Wye River crab soup at the end and heated through. Oh my gosh -- my husband thought he'd died and gone to heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
It was pretty nice and easy. Though, I doubled the stalks of cellery and the cloves of garlic; I also used some thyme. The result was good, and I am glad to have some leftover to eat it tomorrow. I also recommend to let it stand more than half an hour after cooking; the cooler it gets, the better it becomes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I served this with Marinated Grilled Shrimp (you can find the recipe on this site as well) and they tasted sooooo good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Very good. I added mushrooms and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very tasty. My kids ate it and they are pickey eaters. Stewing the cabbage and onions gave it a delicate sweetness that was well balanced my tomatoes. I will make it again, but I might try adding some smoked kielbsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States