Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This dish was surprisingly good! I'm generally not a fan of cabbage but received a small head of it in my bi-weekly farmer's market delivery and couldn't let it go to waste! Rather than use the full amount of butter I added 1/4 cup of vegetable broth and 1 tbsp of butter... I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Ok, I'm Irish and I adore cabbage, so for me this recipe is to die for. I didn't change a thing, served with Pork Roast with Thyme from this site and mashed potatoes. Entire family loved this dish, my 14 year old son had two big helpings. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This freezes well!! Make up a BIG POT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! I substituted EVOO for the butter, added a total of 4 celery stalks, and 4 cloves of garlic (all favorite ingredients) and it was excellent! VERY simple to make, doesn't require a lot of attention while cooking and presents beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Pretty good. Goes great with white rice. Followed the suggestions and added crumbled bacon on top. The bacon's saltiness really added to the dish, which is a little bland. Red pepper flakes also gave it a nice kick. I think next time, I'm either going to add more bacon or make this with kielbasa for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Made with fire roasted crushed tomatoes because that's all i had in hand. Tasty with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Followed the recipe and it's great. I added a little brown sugar though and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I loved this but I am a veggie lover. Kids ate it pretty well. As I prepared it I realized that it had many of the veggies Dr Oz had recently reccomended for avoiding cancer so that is a major bonus. After I had that thought, I tossed in some carrots and a bit of turmeric to make it even healtlhier. One thing I may do differently is thicken the juice up with some cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvmysix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
1/4 cup of butter was a bit too much, only needs about 2T. I made it without the stewed tomatoes (did not have them) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Delicious! Made just a couple of changes. 1. put 3-4 stalks of celery because I love celery. 2. used olive oil instead of butter to make it healthier. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States