Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've made this twice and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this with a couple of strips of bacon instead of the butter (fried up the bacon, used that fat instead of butter) but otherwise stayed pretty true to the recipe. It was kind of boring, to be honest. I kept WANTING it to be worth 4.5 stars, but, alas, it never was. OK, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was quite good. I had to make a slight adjustment, though, because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used a bag of frozen onion, celery, and carrot blend instead of the onions and celery. I followed the provided directions, and tasted it while the tomatoes were simmering. As is, it is a good recipe, and would have earned 5 stars had I left it be. I decided I wanted soup, though, so I added a can of vegetable broth and continued to simmer. That was good as well. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was wonderful. I just happened to have some Benton's bacon from breakfast already prepared, so I used about 3 tablespoons of the drippings with 1 tablespoon butter. My guests asked for the recipe ~ a good sign. Served it with "Best Ever Brisket" and "Easy Polenta With Tomato Sauce". All Recipes is my go-to source these days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChattTraveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i had some left over cabbage so this recipe was perfect for me.I just made a few adjustments.used olive oil instead of butter.used 1 onion and some colorful bell peppers.I sauted onions and bell peppers with olive oil then added cut cabbage and poured in diced tomatoes with juice.seasoned with salt and pepper and a dash of cumin and added 1/2 cup of water,cooked till cabbage was tender enough to eat.turned out awesoooome.paired it with beef cubes cooked in brown sauce. its light,bell peppers gave it a kick and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this recipe was good but not great, i thought. to make it better i added sliced mushrooms and diced onions. i also added italian sausages, and included Parmesan cheese then stirred everything together and sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese over the top. my hubby loved it and he's not too into cabbage.. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley613

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seabrook, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was OK. I really love cabbage and was excited about this recipe, but I prefer just plain cabbage with s&p. I think this recipe has such a high rating because many people added some sort of meat to theirs, which, of course, would make it delicious. But, as a vegetarian dish, it is missing a certain something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Who would have thought that cabbage could taste so good? This was outstanding! I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Cooked this in addition with Chicken Cordon Bleu (from this site) for yesterday's dinner and it was fabulous. Never thought of adding tomatoes to cabbage but am glad I did, but I used sun dried tomatoes which made them oh so tasty. I also left out the celery which I am not a fan of and cooked it in beef broth. I cooked a few slices of maple bacon along with the onions prior to inserting the cabbage. Great website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearli7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States