Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great low carb version of pasta. I add a little bit of red pepper flake for heat and top with a little bit of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very good. I used this as a jumping-off point for a Middle Eastern interpretation. I added about 2tbsp of zataar, a LOT of garlic, a can of chick peas, and about a tbsp of harisa. Simmered for probably half an hour until the tomatoes had sweetened up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made mine with chicken broth instead of butter to save on calories and added a pound of lean hamburger to make a full meal out of it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My first real disappointment with recipes found on this site. I selected it for my cabbage loving husband who likes cabbage so much he was stealing some raw pieces while I was cutting it. First it would not soften, I had to add water( so it would not burn)and keep cooking it; then the next day(yes I had to fix something else in a hurry for that evening)when my husband tasted it, he could stand only a bite or two he asked why it was so sour( I did not change the recipe). I finally threw away all of it. Pretty upsetting when it was made with a really fresh organic cabbage which was delicious raw, I would have made it in coleslaw if I could find a recipe for the coleslaw dressing like they serve in Long John Silver, my husband likes that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I loved this. I used a little bit of olive oil, too, as well as about a half cup of chicken broth. Left out the salt, as we are trying to watch our salt content. Hubby had some thyme out in the garden, so we threw that in also. What I love about this recipe is that it is so versatile. The possibilities of add-ons are endless. You can go totally vegetarian, or add meat. I might try potatoes in this sometime. Also, I bet this would convert to the crock pot beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great starter recipe. Added extra stewed tomatoes. Added carrots. Lots of salt in tomatoes, so left the extra salt out. Added some cooked chicken sausage the last 10 minutes and served this all as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this with bacon and it was delicious. I didn't let it simmer for as long because I like my cabbage a little crunchy. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Made the following changes to suit our tastes: chopped and cooked about 6 oz. of bacon before adding the veggies; added an extra can of tomatoes, and seasoned with Cajun seasoning instead of salt. It was really good though next time I'll omit the 2nd can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was super easy and super yummy! Used two cans of stewed tomates. Carmalized my onions and added sliced sausage to the mix. A couple handfuls of grated cheese and this was a delicious meal!!! Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States