Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was great. The celery and onion add a depth of flavor and sweetness that is very tasty. I used several stalks of celery and more garlic (maybe 4 cloves). I also used a can of stewed tomatoes with celery and onions. I will definitely be making this healthy dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Love love loved it. Everyone in my family enjoyed this dish ...except my son would have preferred it without the tomatoes but he did eat it ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Surprisingly good with the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
If u love cabbage u will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This recipe was very good. I did add about 3 tbsp of red wine vinegar to give it a little twist. Turned out really good. And I didn't any butter. Made it a few times and once I used bacon fat. The next time I used olive oil and both times it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I make this all the time as a side dish. The recipe (okay, stewing in general) is very forgiving, so don't worry too much about portions or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I was looking for something like a comfort food for the winter and couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. After reading some of the other reviews, I improvised and put in a lot of additional stuff but the kitchen sink, including ground mustard, celery seed, caraway seeds, some cut up carrots, potatoes, apple cider vinegar & homemade raspberry vinegar. Seasoned to taste with seasoned salt & pepper, and turned out to be what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Pretty yummy! I never liked stewed tomatoes growing up, but I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I really didn't understand this dish. I only had 1/2 cabbage, so I cut the recipe in half. Other than that I followed it exactly. After I added the stewed tomatoes, 20 minutes later the dish was dry. I covered it and used the exact temperature listed. So, I decided to add the full can for half the recipe. I added the salt and pepper and tasted it, and it doesn't have much flavor. I will have to add some seasonings and see what I can do. I have eaten steamed cabbage that even seemed to have more flavor. Not sure what happened with this one. I liked the idea of all of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States