Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I served this with Marinated Grilled Shrimp (you can find the recipe on this site as well) and they tasted sooooo good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My mother use to make this all the time. We make in a electric skillet & use 4 to 5 slices of bacon & use the grease from bacon drippings to the cabbage. Gives a much better flavor than regular butter. When finished cruble bacon pieces on top.. Yum yum good.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
SOOOOOO GOOOOD! I will be making this regularly from now on. I love cabbage and this was so tasty! Thanks Kim for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I made this tonight and it was delicious! I didn't have any stewed tomatos on hand, but did have two can of "Hunt's diced tomatoes with balsamic vinegar, basil and olive oil" which I threw in. Wow! The flavor was fantastic! Even my picky husband liked it. This was a new dish for us and it will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Everyone enjoyed this recipe as a great side dish! I modified it to make it a bit healthier by cooking the onions, celery, and garlic in 1/4 cup vegetable broth, instead of the butter, and it came out great. Thanks for a quick and easy addition to any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYCAT1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Yummmm! Sounds weird but boy was it GOOD. Even hubby who made a bad face at it, ate the whole bowl full. Followed the recipe but did add about a TBSP of bacon grease (it's a Southern thing! :) Chopped the cabbage up and only had to cook it about 25 minutes or so. I used a sweet Vadalia onion, which I thought was a bit "too" sweet, next time would use regular yellow onion or half regular, half Vadalia. Will make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
A great recipe. However, as a person of Polish descent married to a Polish man we prefer to omit tomatoes and to throw in caraway seeds. My grandmother prepared her's that way and it brings out a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
My mom used to make this but she added wide noodles to it also. It is also good with ham cut up in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Very good. I added mushrooms and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States