Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i had some left over cabbage so this recipe was perfect for me.I just made a few adjustments.used olive oil instead of butter.used 1 onion and some colorful bell peppers.I sauted onions and bell peppers with olive oil then added cut cabbage and poured in diced tomatoes with juice.seasoned with salt and pepper and a dash of cumin and added 1/2 cup of water,cooked till cabbage was tender enough to eat.turned out awesoooome.paired it with beef cubes cooked in brown sauce. its light,bell peppers gave it a kick and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this recipe was good but not great, i thought. to make it better i added sliced mushrooms and diced onions. i also added italian sausages, and included Parmesan cheese then stirred everything together and sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese over the top. my hubby loved it and he's not too into cabbage.. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley613

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seabrook, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was OK. I really love cabbage and was excited about this recipe, but I prefer just plain cabbage with s&p. I think this recipe has such a high rating because many people added some sort of meat to theirs, which, of course, would make it delicious. But, as a vegetarian dish, it is missing a certain something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Who would have thought that cabbage could taste so good? This was outstanding! I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Cooked this in addition with Chicken Cordon Bleu (from this site) for yesterday's dinner and it was fabulous. Never thought of adding tomatoes to cabbage but am glad I did, but I used sun dried tomatoes which made them oh so tasty. I also left out the celery which I am not a fan of and cooked it in beef broth. I cooked a few slices of maple bacon along with the onions prior to inserting the cabbage. Great website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearli7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My husband doesn't even like cabbage and he devoured it! We are vegan so we didn't add the butter but used olive oil instead and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Delicious! my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is delicious just the way the recipie is. It calls for a 1/4 stick of butter so maybe it's not super healthy but I think some cabbage is better than none. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
My mother made a dish similar to this that was out of this world. She cooked the cabbage with a HALF can of tomatoes, a large sweet onion and pork ribs or kielbasa on low for at least an hour (the cabbage was very limp). She then made a rue browning flour with butter and added that to thicken it and served it over mashed potatoes. One thing that will ruin it though is too much tomato. My daughter struggled trying to make this and could never get it the way she remembered it. When we finally made it together, the problem was too much tomato. I would highly recommend only 1/2 can or it will dilute the cabbage flavor. Wonderful. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was fantastic! Simple and so tasty! I took some to work and everyone who tried it asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States