Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Terms like "medium" head cabbage, cut into "squares", 2 onions, etc are not nearly as helpful as actual measurements like "3 cups cabbage cut into 1 inch squares" and 1 1/2 cups chopped onions. I improvised a lot with the amounts, but the ingredients tasted good together and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Loved it, but used two slices of applewood smoked bacon instead of butter. Turned out great. I do serve it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I will definitely make this recipe again! All of the ingredients were right here on hand in my kitchen. I used the advice of an earlier reviewer and added ground sausage to the onions an celery, cooked them together, added minced garlic, cabbage, and then a can of whole roma peeled tomatoes and juice. I also added a tablespoon of pesto, a tablespoon of hidden valley ranch seasoning, and salt/pepper. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgamble1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Delicious! Great with a dash of hot sauce served with kielbasa! Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was good, but needed something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Elias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I really enjoyed this! I used a full head of cabbage, added an additional stalk of celery, and used 3 cloves garlic. After reading other reviews, I also added some thyme and oregano, 1/2 pkg real bacon pieces, and 1/2 cup of beef broth to the mixture while simmering. Covered, I cooked it for an hour, stirring occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wow! This dish got my husband to admit he likes cabbage! The sugar from the tomatoes kind of carmelizes in the pan for a great flavor. No need to change anything. Stir periodically in the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I love it. so easy to make my whole family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is one of my favorites!! I love it!! I do add beans (navy, pinto, or black-eyed peas) to add some protein. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My family and friends loved it. Make it all the time know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anielka84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States