Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I thought this was pretty good but my picky husband loved it so much he was pretty much begging me to make it again. I did make some changes though. I added 2 chopped up carrots and added some vegetarian sausage after it was all done. We ate it over rice. I would like to say that even if you are not a vegetarian, the morningstar veggie sausage links are delicious in this...they give it just the right amount of flavor without all of the fat and cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I'm always looking for good cabbage recipes since it is such a great diet food. I sprayed my pan with Pam instead of using butter and it worked well. I did end up adding just a little olive oil to keep the onions from burning on the bottom after about 10 minutes. I used about 4 celery stalks- we like celery. I also added 1 can kidney beans (rinsed and drained) the last 10 minutes to add some fiber and filling and it was wonderful! Will definitely be making again. I highly recommend the addition of kidney beans :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was sooooooooooooo good, that I was worried that it would be gone before I got it to the table. ( I kept tasting it) I only had a 1/2 a head of cabbage, so I basically 1/2 the recipe except for the stewed tomatoes, and let it simmer on low for about 1 hr. This was perfect! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Simple, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I expected to really like this, but was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I prefer more flavor, so I also added bacon and a bit more garlic, and this was AMAZING! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Simple and delicious- it was a great, healthy side for our diet. My husband even took the left overs for lunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My wife loved it ... said it was restaurant quality. I made it just the way it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Super yummy and very easy! I added chopped carrots and extra tomatoes. But such a great dish and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
LOVED IT! Even my super picky sister had some! I used a can of Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes, which just added more flavor. This made A TON, I served it to six people, with half having more than one huge helping and I still had some left over (yum). My suggestions: leave out the salt, since canned tomatoes come with plenty already. Also, go with what other reviewers said and use olive oil rather than butter to saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States