Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. He is on a vegetable and fruit diet due to cancer. He really liked this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Fantastic recipe!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This is very good. Even DH liked it. Made as written but had no bell peppers or celery, so used some celery seeds and a can of hunts stewed tomatoes with celery and bell peppers. Excellent side dish. thank you for sharing this. This will be a frequent dish at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great recipe, but I'll admit that I used it more for inspiration and changed it a bit. I didn't have celery, so I substituted in some mushrooms in the place of celery. I also added two fresh tomatoes along with beef broth instead of using canned tomatoes. I'm big on herbs and added bay leaf and parsley too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
hearty and delicious.. has become a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tasty recipe! Instead of stewed tomatoes I used 2 T of tomato paste added some fennel seeds. Used electric skillet and sauted the celery and onion and added some bell pepper with veggie broth. Really nice flavor and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Better than just boiled or steamed cabbage by itself, but still bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I didn't want to put diced tomatoes in, since my kids don't like them, so I used tomato paste and water instead. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe surprised me- in a good way! I could not believe how such an easy recipe with so few ingredients could end up making something so truly delicious. I followed it exactly-but because we wanted to enjoy it as a main course- added some smoked beef sausage-(cut up)as the cabbage simmered-and because I love tomatoe-added a bit more as well.. I did also add apprx 1 tbsp sugar as it simmered because I like a tad bit of sweetness- but wow- how good it ended up because the sausage lent just the right amount of smokey flavoring- to balance it out to one big- YUM! Thank you so much for posting. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was great. The celery and onion add a depth of flavor and sweetness that is very tasty. I used several stalks of celery and more garlic (maybe 4 cloves). I also used a can of stewed tomatoes with celery and onions. I will definitely be making this healthy dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States