Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this is a great comfort food recipe. i added worcestshire and some gr. bison. it was really good and i served it with some hot rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrocookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Nothing earth-shattering but good, cheap, comfort food. I added bacon instead of the butter and added some caraway. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
A fairly simple recipe that fits the bill and is conveniently vegan. Somewhat bland, although can be spiced up with additional vinegar (rosewine or basalmic worked well) and a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I added 80% lean turkey sausage which I sauteed first, and used spicy seasoned salt. Next time I will omit the celery as a matter of personal preference, as I don't think it added anything to the flavor of the cabbage. Overall good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This dish has become a favorite at our house. Everyone raves about it -- even people who swore they hated cabbage. Usually I sautee sliced sweet Italian sausage and add a bit of anise seed. Which makes a darned good dish. This evening, I was feeling a little adventuresome and wanted something more spicy. And seasoned the pot with basil, rosemary and thyme. Then, I added a can of Wye River crab soup at the end and heated through. Oh my gosh -- my husband thought he'd died and gone to heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
great, i made a few changes and got a hot version 1 onion 2 baby cabbages 1 can rotel tom. extra hot with chile peppers little more butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
to keep vegetarian & omnivore friends happy - added a bit of liquid smoke and veggie broth to imitate the rich, smokey flavor of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I thought this was very good, I'm not a real big fan of cabbage, but I am now! The only change I made was I added a can of tomato sauce. I thought it needed more liquid. This was delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I think this needs more liquid to cook properly so you don't get a tummyache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe. We added red pepper flakes and oregano and served it over jasmine rice with shrimp and it was fantastic. Super easy and very tasty. I halved the recipe and found that I only needed to cook for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States