Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe, I fed it to my husband tonight and it silenced the jokes about me planting 18 heads of cabbage in the garden this winter. A few changes that we liked: doubled the amount of tomatoes, added a few diced carrots, added some Mrs. Dash, and followed JUSTJEN33's suggestion to sub bacon for the butter. Yum. Who knew cabbage could be this tasty?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Wonderful - for me, a trip back to my childhood. Excellent flavors - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is the first time I have ever made anything with cabbage! The only thing I've ever eaten that had cabbage in it is egg rolls, so hence, my apprehension with this type of vegetable. I decided with St. Patty's Day that I would try something new and I picked this recipe. I actually had to go to work that night, so my husband and son got to eat it fresh. They really liked it. I ate it two days later and it was still really, really good! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because, well, I don't have much experience with cabbage. But I will definitely make this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSEROLECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, it was delicious and a big hit at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
One of my favorites for years now. I plan on trying it with a little bacon in the pan to see if that bumps the flavor up even more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I spiced it up a bit with Rotel along with the stewed tomatoes and also added some cayanne, red pepper flakes and some spicy sausage. I also doubled the garlic and celery. Had to use bacon drippings also, (It is a southern thing) My picky eaters curled up their noses while cooking. But they ended up loving it. My sister-in-law was visiting while I was cooking and she said she hated cabbage. She tasted it and loved it! She said that I should be proud, as that was the first cabbage that she has ever eaten because of the smell. Great recipe! I love making new dishes and the "I told you so!" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacajunette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
A really terriffic recipe. Loved the flavor. I used olive oil instead of butter. And only a touch. I also used fire roasted tomatoes instead of just plain.. really gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
It was okay. There wasn't anything spectacular about it. It is just a different way of flavoring cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Delicious! Mom always added cubed kielbassa to hew cabbage stew so i did too..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Delicious! I've prepared this for dinner tonight and added a couple of splashes of hot sauce for some kick as well as sliced kielbasa. I may serve this with some rice, and will definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States