Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is the best cabbage I have ever eaten! I am not a fan of cabbage (or any veggie) cooked with meat or in animal fat so this is awesome! My husband (who would prefer the animal fat versions) LOVED it so much he had 3 helpings! Super easy and I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel Fork, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
i dont care for stewed tomatoes so i left that out and added diced ham - awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I used a can of diced tomatoes with Italian herbs instead of stewed tomatoes. It had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Very good recipe. I made a variation of it- I added two cans of stewed tomatoes since I like tomatoes. It was pretty good. A little on the sweet side. Maybe next time, I add one can stewed, one can plain diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe, I fed it to my husband tonight and it silenced the jokes about me planting 18 heads of cabbage in the garden this winter. A few changes that we liked: doubled the amount of tomatoes, added a few diced carrots, added some Mrs. Dash, and followed JUSTJEN33's suggestion to sub bacon for the butter. Yum. Who knew cabbage could be this tasty?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Wonderful - for me, a trip back to my childhood. Excellent flavors - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is the first time I have ever made anything with cabbage! The only thing I've ever eaten that had cabbage in it is egg rolls, so hence, my apprehension with this type of vegetable. I decided with St. Patty's Day that I would try something new and I picked this recipe. I actually had to go to work that night, so my husband and son got to eat it fresh. They really liked it. I ate it two days later and it was still really, really good! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because, well, I don't have much experience with cabbage. But I will definitely make this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSEROLECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, it was delicious and a big hit at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
One of my favorites for years now. I plan on trying it with a little bacon in the pan to see if that bumps the flavor up even more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I spiced it up a bit with Rotel along with the stewed tomatoes and also added some cayanne, red pepper flakes and some spicy sausage. I also doubled the garlic and celery. Had to use bacon drippings also, (It is a southern thing) My picky eaters curled up their noses while cooking. But they ended up loving it. My sister-in-law was visiting while I was cooking and she said she hated cabbage. She tasted it and loved it! She said that I should be proud, as that was the first cabbage that she has ever eaten because of the smell. Great recipe! I love making new dishes and the "I told you so!" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacajunette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States