Stewed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I used Italian stewed tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe was very good and easy to make. I did use olive oil instead of butter and increased the garlic cloves to 4 just because of my families personal taste. I will be making this again in the future. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought this was very good. Strangely it was very simple, but quite good. I think I added a little garlic too, if I remember correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
WOW! Absolutely delicious! No leftovers on this dish. Instead of butter, I fried a couple of pieces of bacon and used the grease to saute the onions and celery, then crumbled the bacon into the cabbage later. I also added about a teaspoon of sugar to offset the acidity of the tomatoes. So good and so easy! Next time, I am going to add some sausage and use it as a main dish with some boiled potatoes. Thanks for a keeper receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I took the suggestion from another review and cooked the cabbage with bacon grease and then crumbled it on top to serve, it turned out great. My husband is half polish and his mother is an excellent cook, he told me she would be impressed with this dish. I served this with "Mimi's Slumgullion" off of this site and it was an excellent meal. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OliverandBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Excellent recipe as is. I like to use green peppers instead of celery and sometimes add small can of tomato sauce for extra tomato. Even better the next day. You don't have to be a cabbage lover to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is the best cabbage I have ever eaten! I am not a fan of cabbage (or any veggie) cooked with meat or in animal fat so this is awesome! My husband (who would prefer the animal fat versions) LOVED it so much he had 3 helpings! Super easy and I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel Fork, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
i dont care for stewed tomatoes so i left that out and added diced ham - awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I used a can of diced tomatoes with Italian herbs instead of stewed tomatoes. It had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Very good recipe. I made a variation of it- I added two cans of stewed tomatoes since I like tomatoes. It was pretty good. A little on the sweet side. Maybe next time, I add one can stewed, one can plain diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States