Stew Beef Sauerbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
"Kitchen Bouquet" makes a good Browning & Seasoning Sauce. http://www.practicallyedible.com/edible.nsf/encyclopaedia!openframeset&frame=Right&Src=/edible.nsf/pages/kitchenbouquet!opendocument Follow that link for more details. Only use small quantities since it's highly concentrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Sorry, but what do you mean by 'browning sauce'? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junkerjunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made the recipe per instructions. Found it was lacking........so I went ahead and fixed the flavor. I added a bunch of crushed gingersnaps and about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Carefully blended in and it made a nice gravy. Finished it up with a T. of butter to bend flavors. Much better. Next time I think I will use red wine vinegar for a better flavor right off. Served it with german noodles and green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Why low rate a recipe cause you don't know what browning sauce is. Go look it up ! Sounds like gravy to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Awesome! Tastes great served over homemade noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I use hamberger meat just cooked it in meatballs,this is the first time I didnt burn my stew when maken dumplings with, thanks for the how to tips,I will make this again next time i will try with stew beef but I still am very happy anything I can get all my kids to eat is amazing, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was disappointed - followed the recipe-very watery tasting-sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I decided to try this recipe with some venison stew meat.I have made sauerbraten the traditional way and loved everything about it except the time it takes to marinate.This method therefore was perfect for me.I did decide to modify it according to my own recipe and it was enjoyed by all.(My recipe calls for a whole chopped onion which is browned after the meat,a couple of tablespoons of sugar on the browned meat and a tablespoon of pickling spice which I put in a tea infuser and added to the liquid) I didn't have my pressure cooker with me so I simmered this on the stove for two hours.Thanks so much for the recipe as I never would have considered using anything but a roast for sauerbraten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suppertime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States