Steve's Whole Wheat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Although it always tastes great, I've tried this recipe 3 times and it always over-rises during the 'rise' phase and collapses during baking. This is a typical symptom of forgetting the salt so on try 2 I was SURE to add the salt. Same problem. I gave it one last try with same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Indeed, this bread was very robust, had the good flavor of whole wheat + rye, and a very, very subtle taste of molasses. Next time I bake it though, I'll use the whole wheat setting of my machine, so that it rises a bit more. P.S.: as already mentioned, dough will rise hugely during the first knead, but not that much after the second one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this as written, it made a nice light loaf with a nutty taste. The humidity is low now in January but I will definitely decrease the yeast in the summer - every loaf rises too much then. But for now it was perfect. Edit: Since my review I've made this countless times; it's my favourite bread recipe. Even my gluten-intolerant mother in law can't resist it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2000
The recipe gave a light, slightly sweet bread. I really enjoyed the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Not the best whole wheat I've had, but pretty close. I substituted white whole wheat for the rye flour and did 1 1/2 T honey and 1/2 T molasses. I omitted the sugar (mainly because I forgot) and used butter instead of margarine. I also baked it in the oven instead of the bread machine. Worked great. I also added some gluten to the mixture. It was still a bit sticky as dough and a bit crumbly cooked, but not terribly so. I will likely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I tried this for the first time last night. It was easy to prepare and the results were fantastic! I did the second rising in a baking pan and baked it at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. It rose beautifully and has a nice light taste. This is a keeper, for sure! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I really liked this one. I baked it in an 8 x 4 pan in a 350 oven for 30 minutes. I let it rise twice and added about 1/4 c. gluten to it as well. I could taste the rye and molasses, but they're not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Really good bread. Next time I will add some ground flax to it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen Hébert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States