Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
1st off... YOU MUST USE A GOOD NON STICK PAN FOR THIS! I made the mistake like others and used a reg pan the first time I tried this and I burnt half of it and the other half was mushy... I did make some changes... My 4 potatos were HUGE so it was more like a double batch. I left the skins on and cut the potatoes in half and than cut thicker slices rather than cutting into chunks. I doubled everything and used 6 tbs butter and 6 tbs extra virgin olive oil, just to be healthier. I used 5 large cloves and instead of the chives at the end I diced half a sweet onion and cooked that along w/ the garlic. Doubled the salt and pepper. The first time I made this I used the paprika but this time I was all out and it was still good. I started the cooking directions exactly as written but once done I continued to cook it to get it alittle crisper... I cooked it on med heat and every 5 to 10 mins I would turn/flip the potatoes. It took about 45 mins total and the potatoes were a nice gold brown w/ lots of crispy bits in it. And don't worry about breaking the potatos.. those broken pieces are the pieces that get nice and crispy... That's the best part! This was a HUGE hit and I've made this 3 times in the past 2 weeks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Great home fries! I partially cooked my potatoes first and used seasoned salt vs. regular salt. I added come chopped onion and the addition of fresh chives was great. I did use a non-stick pan - not sure if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong. These were not at all crispy, the bottom of the pan burned. I followed directions exactly and I'm usually a good cook. I sliced the potatoes as the recipe said but see in the picture they are more chunks than slices, maybe that was my problem. Is there a secret I'm missing. Used a stainless pan, not nonstick, maybe that was the problem??? They weren't terrible, we ate them but nothing great. Would love to try them again as other reviewers described, crispy outside, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I made these tonight to go alongside some kabobs and they were really, really good! I followed the recipe exactly with a few minor exceptions. I cut the recipe in half because there were only three of us eating; I used 3 cloves of garlic; I used half butter and half EVOO and I used seasoning salt instead of regular. The end result was really delicious and I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were delicious...I added extra garlic and I chopped up a vidalia onion as well that I cooked up with the potatoes, they added a little sweetness. The chives added at the end were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Fantastic! I swapped out the butter for some EVOO and baked them instead. I also added 3 extra cloves of garlic and 2 tbs. of Essance of Emeril. My kids gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCKID

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were very good, made them exactly as the recipe said. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These were delicious. I added extra garlic, sliced onions, and powdered chicken boullion for more flavor and they came out really good. This method yields flavorful, browned potatoes - the best recipe I have found for home fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Very good, and not at all difficult. I will make them with more garlic next time, as the garlic flavour was pretty tiny. If I could rate them 4 1/2, I would. Thanks for a great recipe,Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
yummy so good and crispy will amke them over and over agean untill there are no more potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States