Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were delicious...I added extra garlic and I chopped up a vidalia onion as well that I cooked up with the potatoes, they added a little sweetness. The chives added at the end were yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These weren't very spectacular. I had to add much more seasoning than was listed on the recipe for less potatoes. Still wasn't very tasty. As another reviewer mentioned, bottom of the pan burned. Next time will use water on the bottom to (hopefully) prevent this from happening again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were very good, made them exactly as the recipe said. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I probably should have used a nonstick skillet, but these were WONDERFUL! I had to cook mine longer, but I didn't slice mine I kept them in chunks. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Love these exactly as is. These are a staple in our house (especially during the cooler fall months). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I made these tonight to go alongside some kabobs and they were really, really good! I followed the recipe exactly with a few minor exceptions. I cut the recipe in half because there were only three of us eating; I used 3 cloves of garlic; I used half butter and half EVOO and I used seasoning salt instead of regular. The end result was really delicious and I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong. These were not at all crispy, the bottom of the pan burned. I followed directions exactly and I'm usually a good cook. I sliced the potatoes as the recipe said but see in the picture they are more chunks than slices, maybe that was my problem. Is there a secret I'm missing. Used a stainless pan, not nonstick, maybe that was the problem??? They weren't terrible, we ate them but nothing great. Would love to try them again as other reviewers described, crispy outside, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Great easy recipe. We make these all the time for breakfast or to go along with sandwiches! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Simple potato dish with a spunky boost of chives. Great, easy, side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These were very tasty and went great with breakfast. I did make some changes though. I used 3 cloves of garlic which was a nice garlicy flavor without being overbearing. I also had no chives so I chopped up one small onion and added it in with the garlic and spices. Came out delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States