Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
With the substitution of extra virgin olive oil for half the butter, this method of cooking home fries worked very well. I especilly liked the fresh chives, but i did not increase the heat when adding them, as my potatoes were cooked through at this point. You could add onions and/or green peppers and vary the seasonings to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I cooked up some bacon and when it was time to make the home fries, I used part of the bacon fat with a little butter to cook the home fries. With an onion, and a side of bacon and eggs.....this is breakfast heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Great home fries! I partially cooked my potatoes first and used seasoned salt vs. regular salt. I added come chopped onion and the addition of fresh chives was great. I did use a non-stick pan - not sure if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were decent. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 EVOO. It was a bit much, maybe next time used 1/2 butter and 1/4 EVOO. I also added a bit more salt (I used Kosher), and a bit more paprika. I thought they were good, and my Easter brunch guests really enjoyed them. (No leftovers) I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These are my go-to potatoes now! Super easy and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Yum, yum Steve! I par boiled my potatoes first, used half butter and half evoo and more seasonings than stated. Great with our burgers tonight and thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Pretty good home fries recipe. I added a drizzle of olive oil (helps keep potatoes from sticking and burning as just butter will do) and added a little white sugar (2 tsp.) with the other seasonings. This helps to give potatoes a slight caramelized appearance without making them sweet. i also increased the garlic as we like allot of it in my family. Overall, was well received and have added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm sure with quite a few changes (like a non-stick pan!), this would have been fine. But as is, it tastes average, the potatoes end up mushy, and your pan will take forever to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Nothing special, regular fried potatoes with garlic. Good but greasy. Not much different from what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Made this for my family for Sunday brunch and they loved it! I omitted the chives, added garlic powder and chopped 1/2 yellow onion. Thanks Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States