Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These are my go-to potatoes now! Super easy and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Yum, yum Steve! I par boiled my potatoes first, used half butter and half evoo and more seasonings than stated. Great with our burgers tonight and thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Pretty good home fries recipe. I added a drizzle of olive oil (helps keep potatoes from sticking and burning as just butter will do) and added a little white sugar (2 tsp.) with the other seasonings. This helps to give potatoes a slight caramelized appearance without making them sweet. i also increased the garlic as we like allot of it in my family. Overall, was well received and have added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm sure with quite a few changes (like a non-stick pan!), this would have been fine. But as is, it tastes average, the potatoes end up mushy, and your pan will take forever to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Nothing special, regular fried potatoes with garlic. Good but greasy. Not much different from what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Made this for my family for Sunday brunch and they loved it! I omitted the chives, added garlic powder and chopped 1/2 yellow onion. Thanks Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Instead of frying the potatoes, I boiled the potatoes for approximately 20 minutes. I melted 2 tbsp of butter, instead of 4 tbsp, and combined the remaining ingredients. After the potatoes had cooked, I drained the water and added the mixture. I covered the potatoes and allowed them to set for ten minutes before serving. They were great and I had fewer dishes to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is how I always make my potatoes for breakfast... The only thing I do differently is put a thin layer of water before I cover the potatoes then leave them alone. They come out perfect for me everytime. I use parsley instead of paprika. Love these in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Good but I cooked on low for 10 min and used fingerlink potatoes instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
1st off... YOU MUST USE A GOOD NON STICK PAN FOR THIS! I made the mistake like others and used a reg pan the first time I tried this and I burnt half of it and the other half was mushy... I did make some changes... My 4 potatos were HUGE so it was more like a double batch. I left the skins on and cut the potatoes in half and than cut thicker slices rather than cutting into chunks. I doubled everything and used 6 tbs butter and 6 tbs extra virgin olive oil, just to be healthier. I used 5 large cloves and instead of the chives at the end I diced half a sweet onion and cooked that along w/ the garlic. Doubled the salt and pepper. The first time I made this I used the paprika but this time I was all out and it was still good. I started the cooking directions exactly as written but once done I continued to cook it to get it alittle crisper... I cooked it on med heat and every 5 to 10 mins I would turn/flip the potatoes. It took about 45 mins total and the potatoes were a nice gold brown w/ lots of crispy bits in it. And don't worry about breaking the potatos.. those broken pieces are the pieces that get nice and crispy... That's the best part! This was a HUGE hit and I've made this 3 times in the past 2 weeks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States