Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These are my go-to potatoes now! Super easy and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Yum, yum Steve! I par boiled my potatoes first, used half butter and half evoo and more seasonings than stated. Great with our burgers tonight and thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Pretty good home fries recipe. I added a drizzle of olive oil (helps keep potatoes from sticking and burning as just butter will do) and added a little white sugar (2 tsp.) with the other seasonings. This helps to give potatoes a slight caramelized appearance without making them sweet. i also increased the garlic as we like allot of it in my family. Overall, was well received and have added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm sure with quite a few changes (like a non-stick pan!), this would have been fine. But as is, it tastes average, the potatoes end up mushy, and your pan will take forever to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Nothing special, regular fried potatoes with garlic. Good but greasy. Not much different from what I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Made this for my family for Sunday brunch and they loved it! I omitted the chives, added garlic powder and chopped 1/2 yellow onion. Thanks Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Instead of frying the potatoes, I boiled the potatoes for approximately 20 minutes. I melted 2 tbsp of butter, instead of 4 tbsp, and combined the remaining ingredients. After the potatoes had cooked, I drained the water and added the mixture. I covered the potatoes and allowed them to set for ten minutes before serving. They were great and I had fewer dishes to wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is how I always make my potatoes for breakfast... The only thing I do differently is put a thin layer of water before I cover the potatoes then leave them alone. They come out perfect for me everytime. I use parsley instead of paprika. Love these in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Good but I cooked on low for 10 min and used fingerlink potatoes instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
1st off... YOU MUST USE A GOOD NON STICK PAN FOR THIS! I made the mistake like others and used a reg pan the first time I tried this and I burnt half of it and the other half was mushy... I did make some changes... My 4 potatos were HUGE so it was more like a double batch. I left the skins on and cut the potatoes in half and than cut thicker slices rather than cutting into chunks. I doubled everything and used 6 tbs butter and 6 tbs extra virgin olive oil, just to be healthier. I used 5 large cloves and instead of the chives at the end I diced half a sweet onion and cooked that along w/ the garlic. Doubled the salt and pepper. The first time I made this I used the paprika but this time I was all out and it was still good. I started the cooking directions exactly as written but once done I continued to cook it to get it alittle crisper... I cooked it on med heat and every 5 to 10 mins I would turn/flip the potatoes. It took about 45 mins total and the potatoes were a nice gold brown w/ lots of crispy bits in it. And don't worry about breaking the potatos.. those broken pieces are the pieces that get nice and crispy... That's the best part! This was a HUGE hit and I've made this 3 times in the past 2 weeks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States